afghanistan cricket
Afghanistan lead the five match ODI series against Ireland 1-0 Getty

Ireland host Afghanistan in the third One Day International (ODI) at the Civil Service Cricket Club, Belfast on 14 July.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 10.45am BST. There is no live coverage of the game in the UK. Click here for the live streaming link.

Weather update

Rain is expected throughout the five-match series. Click here for live weather updates.


Hosts Ireland, who came into the five-match One Day International (ODI) series as favourites, were given a reality check, losing by 39 runs to Afghanistan in the second ODI at Belfast on 12 July.
Set 251 to chase, the Irish failed to capitalise on a good start eventually folding up for 211 in a game that they should have won. Ed Joyce top scored for the hosts with 62 and Kevin O'Brien played a cameo but it was not enough as the rest of the batsmen struggled to get going against the Afghanistan bowlers.

Barry McCarthy and Kevin O'Brien picked up four wickets each but the skipper William Porterfield would know that the bowlers were a tad expensive and will hope that they perform better on Thursday.

Ireland are set to go in with the same XI as they look to square the series.

Afghanistan have had a dream start to the series, winning the second game after the first one was abandoned due to rain and will look to continue the momentum on 14 July. What was impressive was that the win saw a number of players contribute.

Mohammad Shahzad, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi and Rashid Khan played key roles in their win, ably supported by their fielders and captain Asghar Stanikzai.


Ireland to win

Betting odds (betway)

  • Ireland to win: 6/5
  • Afghanistan to win: 4/6

Team news


Possible XI: William Porterfield (c), Ed Joyce, John Anderson, Stuart Poytner (wk), Kevin O'Brien, Paul Stirling, Andy McBrine, George Dockrell, Barry McCarthy, Tim Murtagh, Peter Chase


Possible XI: Mohammad Shahzad, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Samiullah Shenwari, Asghar Stanikzai (c), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Dawlat Zadran, Mirwais Ashraf, Rashid Khan, Shapoor Zadran.