Ed Joyce
Ireland's Ed Joyce scored his fourth ODI ton against Afghanistan on 14 July. Getty

Ireland host Afghanistan in the fourth One Day International (ODI) at the Civil Service Cricket Club, Belfast on Sunday (17 July).

Where to watch

Match starts at 10.45am BST. There is no live coverage of the game in the UK.


Hosts Ireland finally registered their first win of the series, beating Afghanistan by six wickets in the third One Day International (ODI) on 14 July. Set 237 to win the game, the hosts looked in no trouble, cruising to the target with 15-balls to spare.

Ed Joyce and Kevin O'Brien played key roles in the win, Joyce scored an unbeaten 105 runs, his fourth ODI ton while O'Brien put on a show of all-round excellence scoring a quick fire 75 runs while also taking three wickets for 28 runs.

Ireland have not played to their potential in the last few series including the 2016 ICC T20 World Cup, but here they played to their strengths which is a good sign going forward in the series.

The visitors, coming off a win in the second match of the series, failed to carry on the momentum putting up an insipid display with the bat, scoring only 236 runs in their innings. Keeper-batsman Mohammad Shahzad once again saved the team's blushes, scoring 81 runs, this in fact was his third consecutive fifty in ODIs.

Besides Shahzad, Mohammad Nabi has been the only player who has contributed to Afghanistan's cause in the series so far, which will be a concern for the team management. New coach Lalchand Rajput will need to ensure that the players standards don't dip and that they keep on improving as they push for a place in Test cricket.


Ireland to win

Betting odds (betway)

  • Ireland to win: 10/11
  • Afghanistan to win: 4/6

Team news


Possible XI: William Porterfield (c), Ed Joyce, Sean Terry, Stuart Poytner (wk), Kevin O'Brien, Paul Stirling, Gary Wilson, Andy McBrine, Barry McCarthy, Tim Murtagh, Peter Chase


Possible XI:Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Javed Ahmadi, Rahmat Shah, Samiullah Shenwari, Asghar Stanikzai (c), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Dawlat Zadran, Mirwais Ashraf, Rashid Arman, Hamid Hassan.