Lewis Hamilton FP1 FP2
Lewis Hamilton asserted his dominance over the rest of the field with blistering times in both FP1 and FP2 sessions. (Getty)

It was a dominant Mercedes show yet again with Lewis Hamilton leading Nico Rosberg in both FP1 & FP2 sessions at the renowned Monza circuit.

Where to watch live

The third free practice session begins tomorrow (5 September 2015) at 10am BST, while the qualifying session starts at 1pm BST. Sky Sports F1 and Sky Sports F1 HD will provide live coverage of both events in the UK. Real-time internet updates are available on the Live Timing section of the sport's official website.


The Mercedes duo of Hamilton and Rosberg put on yet another dominant display during the practice sessions at the Monza circuit, indicating that Sunday's race will be a battle between the two for the top spot, while the rest of the grid battle for the final place on the podium. Sebastian Vettel was in his customary third position, which he has been for most of the season. And despite Ferrari hoping to bring joy to their fans, it looks unlikely they will be able to eclipse the Silver Arrows team this weekend, barring mechanical problems.

The two Red Bull cars will start at the back of the grid after they both installed their sixth engine of the season, while the Force India team have continued their good form from Spa-Francorchamps as they split the two Ferraris in the second session. The McLaren-Honda team are still struggling to match the pace set by the other cars apart from the Manor Racing duo. Alonso and Button will continue to start from the back of the grid due to their unreasonable penalties.

Despite the Mercedes dominance, it looks like it will be an entertaining race as the rest of the Mercedes-powered cars look almost evenly matched on race pace, which could see a battle for points-scoring places.

Top 10 results of the second practice session from Monza, Italy:

1. L Hamilton (GBR), Mercedes – 1:24.279

2. N Rosberg (GER), Mercedes – 1:24.300

3. S Vettel (GER), Ferrari – 1:25.038

4. S Perez (MEX), Force India – 1:25.278

5. N Hulkenburg (GER), Force India – 1:25.325

6. K Raikkonen (FIN), Ferrari – 1:25.380

7. S Grosjean (FRA), Lotus – 1:25.497

8. P Maldonado (COL), Lotusi – 1:25.513

9. V Bottas (FIN), Williams – 1:25.647

10. F Massa (BRA), Williams – 1:25.891