Michael Jackson
Xscape is the second posthumous Jackson album released by Epic. Epic

Mary J. Blige and Justin Timberlake have been confirmed as two of the featured guest vocalists on Michael Jackson's posthumous album Xscape.

Featuring Jackson's unfinished material, nine-time Grammy winner Timbaland and Epic mogul L.A. Reid served as executive producers and enlisted StarGate, Jerome 'Jroc' Harmon, and Rodney Jerkins to produce the eight tracks.

Describing how the album of unfinished songs came together, A&R executive Aaron Reid told Page Six: "Michael Jackson didn't trust anyone with his music. He stopped finishing songs. He had a whole bunch of material stored away. He had hooks. He had verses. Then we put it together."

"[It was] an amazing process," added the 24-year-old. "Michael Jackson is my favourite artist of all time. With this project, I got to carry on his legacy and even to contribute to it. There's nothing like it."

Other artists featured on the pop icon's album are R&B crooner D'Angelo, drummer Questlove, and guitarist Jesse Johnson of The Time.

Jackson died of a heart attack after overdosing on propofol in 2009 at the age of 50.

The first posthumous album to be released by Epic Records was Michael in 2010 featuring Akon, 50 Cent, and Lenny Kravitz.

Epic Records will release Xscape, a new posthumous album on May 12 in the UK and May 27 in the US.