Wayne Rooney
Rooney will miss the Champions League debut. Getty Images

Manchester United captain Wayne Rooney will miss the Premier League giant's return to the Champions League after being left out of the Louis van Gaal's squad for the game against PSV Eindhoven on Tuesday night (15 September). Andreas Pereira however, is ready to return to action after he missed Saturday's 3-1 victory over Liverpool after suffering and injury during the international break. James Wilson is also in the squad despite the Dutch boss claiming last week he is expected to go on loan to a Championship side to secure more playing time.

Rooney already missed the win over Liverpool on Saturday after picking up a minor injury during training last week just after overtaking Sir Bobby Charlton as England's top goalscorer following his goals against San Marino and Switzerland on international duty. Van Gaal handed versatile Maroaune Fellaini the number nine role against Brendan Rodgers' side, and after the game predicted that Rooney will remain on the side-lines for the Champions League debut - hoping to have him available for the next Premier League clash at Southampton on Sunday.

"He is injured so we have to take care of him. I think he is very important for us and I don't take any risks so that's why he doesn't play today," van Gaal told MUTV after United's 3-1 win over Liverpool. "I don't think he will play against PSV Eindhoven, but maybe he shall play at Southampton. We have to wait and see if he can play against PSV because we still have three days to go."

Now the club have confirmed the news after the Captain was left out of the 18-man squad for the trip to PSV. Van Gaal may consider handing Martial a starting role to cover Rooney's absence after the French starlet scored a stunning goal in his debut against Liverpool, while Fellaini and Wilson are also available.

United's travelling squad: David De Gea, Sergio Romero, Daley Blind, Matteo Darmian, Paddy McNair, Marcos Rojo, Luke Shaw, Chris Smalling, Antonio Valencia; Michael Carrick, Ander Herrera, Andreas Pereira, Morgan Schneiderlin, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Juan Mata, Ashley Young; Memphis Depay, Marouane Fellaini, Anthony Martial, James Wilson.