Marc Marquez
Marc Marquez Reuters

Honda rider Marc Marquez has won the 2014 MotoGP World Championship after managing a second place finish during the Motul Grand Prix of Japan on Sunday.

The 21-year-old had an impressive start to this season after winning 10 races in a row. The Spaniard's brilliant run helped him hold a firm grip at the top of the championship table and defend his title this year.

Marquez started the Motul Grand Prix of Japan from second row as he managed to finish the qualifying in fourth spot. The Honda rider did not enjoy a great start to the race as he dropped to sixth place after the end of the first lap, behind his teammate Dani Pedrosa, who dropped to fifth.

Yamaha's Valentino Rossi got a good start to the race and his teammate Jorge Lorenzo was behind him in the second place. However, the Spanish rider got the better of the Italian as he took the lead for the first time at Motegi.

Meanwhile, Marquez had no troubled in beating Pedrosa to get to fifth place earlier in the race. The new World Champion went on to overtake Pramac rider Andrea Iannone and was behind Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso in fourth place.

Honda's Spanish rider got the better of Dovizioso and also managed to close the gap at the top with second place Rossi. Marquez finally closed in on the nine-time World Champion and were neck-to-neck with nine laps to go.

Rossi was unable to hold his lead before Marquez finally overtook him with eight laps to go. He managed to hold his position till the end of the race as Lorenzo went on to win his second race of the season.

A second place finish for Marquez and Rossi finishing behind him was sufficient for the 21-year-old Spanish rider to win the championship. It did happen that way as Lorenzo won the race, while Marquez was second with Rossi finishing behind him in third place.

Marquez finished 1.638s behind Lorenzo and was 0.964s ahead of third place Rossi. The Honda rider won the championship title in his debut season last year and has managed to hold on to the title by winning it for the second time at Motegi.

Top 10 Race Results from Motegi:

1. Jorge Lorenzo (Esp) Yamaha 42:21.259s

2. Marc Marquez (Esp) Honda 42:22.897s

3. Valentino Rossi (Ita) Yamaha 42:23.861s

4. Dani Pedrosa (Esp) Honda 42:24.416s

5. Andrea Dovizioso (Ita) Ducati 42:35.612s

6. Andrea Iannone (Ita) Pramac 42:37.912s

7. Stefan Bradl Ger) LCR 42:40.790s

8. Pol Espargaro (Esp) Tech 3 42:41.074s

9. Bradley Smith (GBR) Tech 3 42:44.834s

10. Alvaro Bautista (Esp) Gresini 42:56.946s