Rio 2016 Olympics: Day 8 highlights IBTimes UK / Getty

Netherlands take on Australia in the third quarter-final on Sunday (14 August).

Where to watch live

The match starts at 10pm BST. The hockey matches of the Rio 2016 Olympics will be telecast live on BBC One, BBC Four and the BBC's Red Button interactive service in the United Kingdom. In addition to this, there will be up to 24 HD video streams to follow the event on desktop, mobile and tablet.

Below is a list of all Olympics 2016 Hockey broadcasters from across the world.


The silver medalists at the 2012 London Olympic Games, Netherlands come into this game after finishing second in Pool B with three wins from five games. Their only loss came at the hands of table-toppers Germany.

Boasting one of the best squads in the tournament, the Dutch have always done well in hockey, which is seen by the 18 goals they have scored – the second highest by a team in the group stage, just behind Belgium who have scored 21.

The current European champions are expected to cruise past Australia on 14 August and in Mink van der Weerden, they have arguably the player of the tournament.

australia hockey team
Australia thrashed Brazil 9-0 in their final group game in the Rio 2016 Olympics on 12 August Getty

Their opponents, Australia, had a mixed time in the group stage, winning three and losing two out of the five games played. The Kookaburras though come into this game full of confidence, thrashing hosts Brazil 9-0 in their final game.

Jamie Dwyer and Blake Govers have been the stars for the Australians in the tournament and will be expected to lead from the front if they are to cause an upset against the favourites Netherlands. The Kookaburras who won Bronze at the games four years ago are not fancied to go through to the next round but are capable of shocking teams on their day.

Team news


Goalkeepers: Jaap Stockmann

Defenders: Mink van der Weerden, Rogier Hofman, Glenn Schuurman, Hidde Turkstra

Midfielders: Seve van Ass, Billy Bakker, Sander Baart, Jorrit Croon, Robert Kemperman, Bob de Voogd, Sander de Wijn

Forwards: Mirco Pruyser, Robert van der Horst, Jeroen Hertzberger, Valentin Verga.


Goalkeepers: Andrew Charter, Tyler Lovell

Defenders: Chris Ciriello, Mark Knowles, Tim Deavin, Fergus Kavanagh, Matthew Swann, Matthew Dawson, Josh Beltz, Andrew Philpott

Midfielders: Simon Orchard, Eddie Ockenden, Tristan White, Aran Zalewski, Kiel Brown

Forwards: Jamie Dwyer, Glenn Turner, Jake Whetton, Matt Gohdes, Kieran Govers, Jeremy Hayward, Trent Mitton, Tom Craig, Flynn Ogilvie, Dylan Wotherspoon, Blake Govers

Below is a list of TV channels that would air the game around the world

United KingdomBBC
ArgentinaAmerica Movil, DirecTV, ESPN, Fox Sports
BrazilFox Sports Brazil
ChileESPN, Fox Sports
ColombiaESPN, Fox Sports
Costa RicaESPN
FranceFrance 4, Foot+
HondurasClaro Sports
Hong KongTVB Sport
IrelandLFC TV
IndiaStar Sports
Middle EastbeIN Sports Arabia
New ZealandSky Television
PortugalSport TV3
SpainTVE La 1, TDP
United StatesUSA Network, NBC Sports