Saracens, who ended the regular season fourth, became the first team to win the Premiership after finishing outside the top two positions. Getty Images

Saracens have won the Aviva Premiership title for the first time in four years following a 28-16 win over Bath at Twickenham.

Mark McCall's side, who lost a gruelling 2014 final in extra-time against Northampton Saints, exercised their early dominance by running in three first-half tries and confidently withstood a spirited second-half fightback from their usually free-scoring opponents to ensure victory.

After a physical start that featured a number of brutal hits from both sides, Saracens drew first blood when a brilliant and swift counter-attack led to fly-half Owen Farrell fooling the Bath backline with a sweet dummy before hurtling through a gap in the defence to touch down.

They extended their lead further just minutes later when hooker Jamie George, headbutted by Dylan Hartley during the semi-final win at Franklin's Gardens and subsequently called into England's 50-man pre-World Cup training squad to replace his Northampton Saints counterpart, burst clear to score and Chris Wyles added a third to leave the score at 25-3.

Bath, appearing in their first final since 2004, have played some fantastic rugby this season, however, and they hit back shortly after the break through Jonathan Joseph.

A penalty from George Ford brought them back within nine, but Farrell remained composed from the tee to give his side the necessary breathing space and Saracens' impressive defence held firm.

"That feels really good," McCall said after the final whistle. "Last year was painful, there was a lot of hurt, but we promised ourselves it wouldn't be an excuse for the season we had.

"We deserved nothing just because we had lost in the finals last year, so we had to earn everything we got. It's been an up and down season from time to time, but that first-half performance was pretty special and I'm thrilled we got over the line."

Glasgow Warriors beat Munster 31-13 in the Pro12 final, meanwhile, and in France Toulouse and Stade Francais booked their places in the Top 14 semi-finals with victories over Oyonnax and Racing Metro respectively.