Theresa May
Theresa May will reportedly become the first prime minister in more than 60 years not to hand out honours to long-serving MPs Reuters

In a break from her predecessor, David Cameron, who dished out awards to his drivers and his wife's stylist, Theresa May will become the first prime minister for more than 60 years not to guarantee honours to MPs who are standing down at the end of the parliament.

The decision for a prime minister not to create a dissolution honours list has been described as "unprecedented" in modern times.

Sir David Beamish, a former clerk of the parliaments, told the Telegraph: "You can see why that might be the case, given that Cameron had his own resignation honours list.

"This decision would be in keeping with the announcement of a dress-down state opening of Parliament."

The last time it happened was in 1951, when there were two elections within 12 months under Clement Attlee.

When Cameron stepped down, he created 13 Tory life peers and controversially awarded honours to his aides, Camilla Cavendish and Craig Oliver.

Number 10 has told outgoing Tory MPs, who include Sir Gerald Howarth and Sir Eric Pickles, not to expect honours.

A Westminster insider told the Telegraph: "You have a dissolution honours list at the end of a five-year parliament, not a two-year parliament. There does not appear to be the need for it."

Last year. May said that honours should go to members of the public who contributed to their communities, not to celebrities and civil servants.