Oscars 2014 - Academy Awards
The iconic golden statue of the Academy Awards Reuters

Nominations for this year's Oscars ceremonies have been announced in Los Angeles by actor Chris Hemsworth and Academy president Cheryl Boone Isaac.

American Hustle and Gravity topped the nominations with 10 each. Hot favourite 12 Years a Slave received nine.

The awards will be presented at the biggest ceremony in the Hollywood calendar on 2 March.

Best Picture
12 Years A Slave
American Hustle
Dallas Buyers Club
The Wolf of Wall Street
Captain Phillips

Best Director
Alfonso Cuaron – Gravity
Alexander Payne - Nebraska
David O Russell - American Hustle
Martin Scorsese – The Wolf of Wall Street
Steve McQueen - 12 Years a Slave

Best Actor
Christian Bale – American Hustle
Bruce Dern – Nebraska
Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street
Chiwetel Ejiofor - 12 Years a Slave
Matthew McConaughey – Dallas Buyers Club

Best Actress
Amy Adams - American Hustle
Cate Blanchett - Blue Jasmine
Sandra Bullock – Gravity
Judi Dench - Philomena
Meryl Streep - August: Osage County

Best Supporting Actor
Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave
Jared Leto – Dallas Buyers Club
Barkhad Abdi - Captain Phillips
Bradley Cooper - American Hustle
Jonah Hill - Wolf Of Wall Street

Best Supporting Actress
Sally Hawkins - Blue Jasmine
Lupita Nyong'o - 12 Years a Slave
Jennifer Lawrence - American Hustle
Julia Roberts - August: Osage County
June Squibb – Nebraska

Best Adapted Screenplay
Julie Delpy, Ethan Hawke & Richard Linklater – Before Midnight
Billy Ray – Captain Phillips
Steve Coogan & Jeff Pope - Philomena
John Ridley – 12 Years A Slave
Terence Winter, The Wolf of Wall Street

Best Original Screenplay
David O. Russell and Eric Singer - American Hustle
Spike Jonze - Her
Craig Borten & Melisa Wallack - Dallas Buyers Club
Woody Allen - Blue Jasmine
Bob Nelson – Nebraska

Best Foreign Language Film
The Broken Circle Breakdown - Belgium
The Great Beauty - Italy
The Hunt - Denmark
The Missing Picture - Cambodia
Omar - Palestine

Best Documentary
The Act of Killing - Joshua Oppenheimer
Cutie and the Boxer
Dirty Wars
20 Feet From Stardom - Morgan Neville

Best Animated Feature Film
Frozen – Disney
Despicable Me 2 – Dreamworks
The Wind Rises – Studio Ghibli
The Croods - Dreamworks
Ernest & Celestine - La Parti Productions

Best Original Song
Alone But Not Alone – Alone But Not Alone
Let It Go - Frozen (Robert Lopez & Kristen Anderson-Lopez)
Happy - Depicable Me 2 (Pharrell Williams)
The Moon Song - Her (Karen O)
Ordinary Love - Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom (U2)

Best Cinematography
The Grandmaster - Philippe Le Sourd
Gravity - Emmanuel Lubezki
Inside Llewyn Davis - Bruno Delbonnel
Nebraska - Phedon Papamichael
Prisoners - Roger A. Deakins

Best Costume Design
American Hustle - Michael Wilkinson
The Grandmaster - William Chang Suk Ping
The Great Gatsby - Catherine Martin
The Invisible Woman - Michael O'Connor
12 Years a Slave - Patricia Norris

Best Documentary Short
CaveDigger - Jeffrey Karoff
Facing Fear - Jason Cohen
Karama Has No Walls - Sara Ishaq
The Lady in Number 6: Music Saved My Life - Malcolm Clarke and Nicholas Reed
Prison Terminal: The Last Days of Private Jack Hall - Edgar Barens

Best Original Score
The Book Thief - John Williams
Gravity - Steven Price
Her - William Butler and Owen Pallett
Philomena - Alexandre Desplat
Saving Mr. Banks - Thomas Newman

Best Animated Short Film
Feral - Daniel Sousa and Dan Golden
Get a Horse! - Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim
Mr. Hublot - Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares
Possessions - Shuhei Morita
Room on the Broom - Max Lang and Jan Lachauer

Best Live Action Short Film
Aquel No Era Yo (That Wasn't Me)" Esteban Crespo
Avant Que De Tout Perdre (Just before Losing Everything) - Xavier Legrand and Alexandre Gavras
Helium - Anders Walter and Kim Magnusson
Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?) - Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari
The Voorman Problem - Mark Gill and Baldwin Li

Best Sound Editing
All Is Lost - Steve Boeddeker and Richard Hymns
Captain Phillips - Oliver Tarney
Gravity - Glenn Freemantle
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug - Brent Burge
Lone Survivor - Wylie Stateman

Best Sound Mixing
Captain Phillips - Chris Burdon, Mark Taylor, Mike Prestwood Smith and Chris Munro
Gravity - Skip Lievsay, Niv Adiri, Christopher Benstead and Chris Munro
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug" Christopher Boyes, Michael Hedges, Michael Semanick and Tony Johnson
Inside Llewyn Davis - Skip Lievsay, Greg Orloff and Peter F. Kurland
Lone Survivor - Andy Koyama, Beau Borders and David Brownlow

Best Visual Effects
Gravity - Tim Webber, Chris Lawrence, Dave Shirk and Neil Corbould
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug - Joe Letteri, Eric Saindon, David Clayton and Eric Reynolds
Iron Man 3 - Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Erik Nash and Dan Sudick
The Lone Ranger - Tim Alexander, Gary Brozenich, Edson Williams and John Frazier
Star Trek Into Darkness - Roger Guyett, Patrick Tubach, Ben Grossmann and Burt Dalton

Best Makeup and Hairstyling
Dallas Buyers Club - Adruitha Lee and Robin Mathews
Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa - Stephen Prouty
The Lone Ranger - Joel Harlow and Gloria Pasqua-Casny

Best Production Design
American Hustle - Judy Becker, Heather Loeffler
Gravity - Andy Nicholson, Rosie Goodwin and Joanne Woollard
The Great Gatsby - Catherine Martin, Beverley Dunn
Her - K.K. Barrett,Gene Serdena
12 Years a Slave - Adam Stockhausen, Alice Baker

Best Film Editing
American Hustle - Jay Cassidy, Crispin Struthers and Alan Baumgarten
Captain Phillips - Christopher Rouse
Dallas Buyers Club - John Mac McMurphy and Martin Pensa
Gravity - Alfonso Cuarón and Mark Sanger
12 Years a Slave - Joe Walker