Argentina take on India in the third game in Group B on Tuesday (9 August).

Where to watch live

The match starts at 3pm BST. The hockey matches of the Rio 2016 Olympics will be telecast live on BBC One, BBC Four and Red Button in the United Kingdom. In addition to this, there will be up to 24 HD video streams to follow the event on desktop, mobile and tablet.

Below is a list of all Olympics 2016 Hockey broadcasters from across the world.


Argentina will be full of confidence coming into this game, considering they registered their first win of the tournament thrashing Canada 3-1 on Monday. Gonzalo Peillat scored twice while Matias Paredas added one to ensure that Argentina are still unbeaten at the Rio Olympics.

The South Americans had drawn 3-3 with favourites Netherlands in their opening game, which has clearly given them a boost. In Matias Paredas who has scored in both their fixtures, they have a star that is not afraid of going forward and taking on the defence.

A win for them against India will help them going forward as they battle for a spot in the top three.

India hockey team
India have won one and lost another so far in the Rio 2016 Olympics Getty

Eight-time Olympic champions India suffered their first defeat in the 2016 Rio Olympics on 8 August going down 2-1 to Germany. The Men in Blue conceded a goal in the dying seconds to let Germany win in what was a closely fought match.

Rupinder Pal Singh was the only bright spot for India, scoring in the 23rd minute. He has now scored three goals in the two games played so far. Roelant Olktman's men have looked nervous in both the games, especially in defence, with keeper P R Sreejesh needing to rescue the side on a number of occasions.

India will come into this game knowing they have to ensure that they do not concede late goals, something which has happened in both their games so far.

Team news


Goalkeepers: Agustin Abratte, Juan Manuel Vivaldi

Defenders: Juan Ignacio Gilardi, Pedro Ibarra, Juan Martin Lopez, Gonzalo Peillat, Matias Ray, Lucas Vila.

Midfielders: Lucas Rossi, Emiliano Agustin Rey, Lucas Rey, Diego Ignacio Paz, Agustin Mazzilli, Isidoro Carlos Ibarra, Manuel Brunet.

Forwards: Facundo Callioni, Lucas Martinez, Joaquin Menini, Matias Paredes, Lucas Vila.


Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh (c)

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Kothajit Singh, Surendar Kumar, VR Raghunath,

Midfielders: Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh, SK Uthappa, Danish Mujtaba, Devender Walmiki, Chinglenana Singh.

Forwards: SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah

Below is a list of TV channels that would air the game around the world:

United KingdomBBC
ArgentinaAmerica Movil, DirecTV, ESPN, Fox Sports
BrazilFox Sports Brazil
ChileESPN, Fox Sports
ColombiaESPN, Fox Sports
FranceFrance 4, Foot+
GermanyZDF, ARD
HondurasClaro Sports
Hong KongTVB Sport
IrelandLFC TV
IndiaStar Sports
Middle EastbeIN Sports Arabia
New ZealandSky Television
PortugalSport TV3
SpainTVE La 1, TDP
United StatesUSA Network, NBC Sports