Argentina take on Netherlands in their opening encounter in Group B on Saturday (6 August).

Where to watch live

The match starts at 2pm BST. The hockey matches of the Rio 2016 Olympics will be telecast live on BBC One, BBC Four and Red Button in the United Kingdom. In addition to this, there will be up to 24 HD video streams to follow the event on desktop, mobile and tablet.

Below is a list of all Olympics 2016 Hockey broadcasters from across the world.


The 2015 Pan American Games winners Argentina, have improved by leaps and bounds over the past two years and come into the 2016 Rio Olympics capable of challenging the best teams in the world.

Coached by former player, Carlos Retegui, the man who guided both the men's and women's national side to the bronze medal at the Rabobank Hockey World Cup, the South Americans are a team on the rise.

Argentina finished in 10<sup>th place in the last Olympics and in Pedro Ibarra, Lucas Vila, Gonzalo Peillat and skipper Matias Paredes, they have players capable of winning games on their own.

Netherlands hockey
The Netherlands Men's hockey team won the silver medal at London 2012 Olympics Getty

Current European champions and gold medal winners from 1996 and 2000, Netherlands are a team brimming with world class talent. The silver medallists from the 2012 London Olympics, Holland come into the summer games as one of the favourites to finish first.

Star players for Netherlands include, Robert van der Horst, Jeroen Hertzberger, Billy Bakker and Mink van der Weerden.

Team news


Goalkeepers: Agustin Abratte, Juan Manuel Vivaldi

Defenders: Juan Ignacio Gilardi, Pedro Ibarra, Juan Martin Lopez, Gonzalo Peillat, Matias Ray, Lucas Vila.

Midfielders: Lucas Rossi, Emiliano Agustin Rey, Lucas Rey, Diego Ignacio Paz, Agustin Mazzilli, Isidoro Carlos Ibarra, Manuel Brunet.

Forwards: Facundo Callioni, Lucas Martinez, Joaquin Menini, Matias Paredes, Lucas Vila.


Goalkeepers: Jaap Stockmann

Defenders: Mink van der Weerden, Rogier Hofman, Glenn Schuurman, Hidde Turkstra

Midfielders: Seve van Ass, Billy Bakker, Sander Baart, Jorrit Croon, Robert Kemperman, Bob de Voogd, Sander de Wijn

Forwards: Mirco Pruyser, Robert van der Horst, Jeroen Hertzberger, Valentin Verga.

Below is a list of TV channels that would air the game around the world:

United KingdomBBC
ArgentinaAmerica Movil, DirecTV, ESPN, Fox Sports
BrazilFox Sports Brazil
ChileESPN, Fox Sports
ColombiaESPN, Fox Sports
Costa RicaESPN
FranceFrance 4, Foot+
HondurasClaro Sports
Hong KongTVB Sport
IrelandLFC TV
ItalyPremium Sport HD
Middle EastbeIN Sports Arabia
NorwayTV2 Sumo
PortugalSport TV3
SpainTVE La 1, TDP
United StatesUSA Network, NBC Sports