pakistan hockey team
Pakistan have struggled for form in the past couple of seasons Getty

Malaysia host Pakistan in the opening game of the 2016 Asian Hockey Champions Trophy at Malaysia on 20 October.

Click here to follow the schedule of the Men's Champions Trophy 2016.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 1.30pm BST. Live coverage of the game in the UK is available on BT Sport and BT Sport HD.

Click here to find out how to watch the Men's Hockey Champions Trophy on TV, mobile and online abroad.


Hosts Malaysia come into this clash on the back of a disappointing season during which they failed to qualify for the 2016 Rio Olympic Games. Yet, Coach Stephen van Huizen is upbeat and has set a semi-final spot as their target.

The Malaysians though have fond memories of the tournament winning the bronze medal in all three editions so far and come into the tournament currently ranked 14<sup>th.

Defending champions Pakistan come into this tournament looking to change their positions and establish their position as one of the dominant forces of world hockey once again. The Men In Green just like their opponents have had a disappointing couple of seasons, failing to qualify for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games and then finishing fifth in the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, which was their last outing on the international stage.

Pakistan have opted to go with experienced professionals in the squad and defender Mohammad Irfan has been named the skipper, while Ammad Shakeel Butt is his deputy.

Team news


Goalkeepers: S.Kumar, Hafizuddin Othman

Defenders: Razie Abdul Rahim, Sukri Abdul Mutalib (c), Najib Abu Hassan, Faiz Helmi Jali, Nazmi Farizal Jazlan

Midfielders: Joel Samuel van Huizen, Nabil Fiqri Mohd Nor, Fitri Saari, Meor Muhammad Azuan, Azri Hassan

Forwards: Rashid Baharom, Firhan Ashari, Shahril Saabah, Haziq Samsul, Nik Aiman Rozemi, Faizal Saari.


Goalkeepers: Imran Butt, Amjad Ali

Defenders: Aleem Bilal, Mohammad Irfan (c), Ammad Shakeel Butt

Midfielders: Rashid Mahmood, Tasawar Abbas, Nawaz Ashfaq, Fareed Ahmad, Toseeq Arshad, Mohammad Rizwan junior

Forwards: Mohammad Irfan junior, Umar Bhutta, Arslan Qadir, Ali Shan, Ejaz Ahmad, Mohammad Rizwan senior, Abdul Haseem Khan.