Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli was the man of the match for his performance with the bat in the first T20I against Australia Getty

Australia will take on India in the second of the three T20 internationals (T20I) at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on 29 January, Friday.

Where to watch Live

Match starts at 8:38pm GMT. Live TV coverage is available on Sky Sports 1 and Sky Sports 1 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


After a disappointing 4-1 defeat in the ODI series, India started the T20I on a positive note after clinching a victory in the first fixture and taking a 1-0 lead in the three-match series. Virat Kohli was the star man with the bat as his unbeaten knock of 90 off 55 balls helped his side post a total of 188 runs for the loss of three wickets in 20 overs.

In reply, Australia were bowled out for 151 runs in 19.3 overs. Opening batsman Aaron Finch was the top-scorer for the hosts with 44 runs. Captain Steven Smith scored 21. The two were the only players to score above 20 runs.

Aaron Finch
Aaron Finch was Australia's top-scorer in the first game in Adelaide Getty

Jasprit Bumrah was the star player for India with the ball, picking up three wickets. Two of his scalps were David Warner and James Faulkner. He will retain his place in the second T20I on Friday.

Australia will be without the services of both Warner and Smith for the clash at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. The duo are being rested for the New Zealand series. That allows two others an opportunity to shine with a good performance likely to be seen favourably by the selectors who are due to pick the team for the T20 World Cup to be played in India in March.


Australia to win

Betting Odds (betfair)

  • Australia to win: 4/7
  • India to win: 11/8

Team News


Possible XI: Aaron Finch (c), Shane Watson, Shaun Marsh, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Travis Head, Matthew Wade (wk), James Faulkner, Cameron Boyce, Kane Richardson, Shaun Tait


Possible XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuraj Singh, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni (c & wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra