A phenomenal year for British sport was celebrated last night as cyclist Bradley Wiggins was crowned the BBC Sports Personality of the Year. At a star-studded excel arena, the Tour De France and Olympic Time trial winning cyclist was voted first by the public, beating Olympic Heptathlon champion Jessica Ennis to second, and US open and tennis gold medal winner Andy Murray to third.

The Olympic vibe continued across the board as Dave Brailsford, the cycling chief who helped Wiggins win the Tour de France and Britain win 15 medals at the games, was named coach of the year, whilst the fastest man on the planet and triple gold medallist at London 2012 Usain Bolt won overseas personality of the year.

Team GB and Paralympics GB, who between them at London 2012 hauled a record 185 medals, 63 of them gold, jointly received the team of the year prize.

Seb Coe, the man who orchestrated this summer's spectacular Olympics in London, received the lifetime achievement award for his efforts towards sport in the country.

Written and presented by Alfred Joyner