Ben Stokes
Stokes is one of three players without a Test appearance to feature in the 17-man squad.

England have included uncapped trio Gary Ballance, Ben Stokes and Boyd Rankin in their 17-man Ashes squad to face Australia this winter.

All three have impressed during England's one-day series against Australia and have beaten off competition from more experienced campaigners to earn a place in the squad.

James Taylor, Nick Compton and Graeme Onions have all been omitted while Tim Bresnan will travel as he continues to recover from a stress fracture in his back.

National selector Geoff Miller said: "We are fully aware that the Ashes series will once again be fiercely contested and that this squad will need to work extremely hard and play to a very high level to retain the Ashes and we believe we have selected a squad capable of doing just that.

"As we have seen in previous series we will need all members of the squad ready to step up and make vital contributions throughout the five Tests and we feel that all 17 players have the ability to do that.

"There is real competition for places with both bat and ball and we feel that we have provided Andy Flower and Alastair Cook with a well balanced squad.

"Tim Bresnan has not been named in the squad and is continuing his recovery from a stress fracture in his back. He will travel to Australia with the squad to maximise his rehab opportunities with the medical team and coaches who will monitor his progress."

After a succession of off the field problems, Monty Panesar is included as the stand-by spinner behind Graeme Swann, while Michael Carberry is selected as a back-up opener.

Chris Tremlett, who took 17 wickets in the last Ashes series down-under but has since suffered serious back and knee injuries, is included while Steven Finn, dropped after the first Test this summer also earns a place.

The first Ashes Test starts in Brisbane on 21 November as England go in search of a fourth successive series victory following their 3-0 win on home turf.

England 17-man Ashes squad: Alastair Cook, Matt Prior, James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Gary Ballance, Ian Bell, Stuart Broad, Michael Carberry, Steven Finn, Monty Panesar, Kevin Pietersen, Boyd Rankin, Joe Root, Ben Stokes, Graeme Swann, Chris Tremlett, Jonathan Trott.