Joe Root
Joe Root was England's star player against South Africa   Getty

Click here to follow IBTimes UK's live updates between England v Afghanistan

England take on Afghanistan in a Group 1 fixture of the ICC T20 World Cup 2016 at Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi, on Wednesday, 23 March.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 9:30am GMT/3pm IST. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD in the UK. Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3 will telecast it in India. Click here for the live streaming link.


After England's opening defeat at the hands of West Indies, they bounced back in brilliant fashion when they faced South Africa. The Proteas posted a mammoth total of 229 in 20 overs and the English side had a massive task on their hand. Jason Roy and Alex Hales gave the Three Lions a good start, before Joe Root's 83 off 44 deliveries saw them seal a victory by two wickets with two balls to spare. Eoin Morgan and England will be hoping to beat Afghanistan at Feroz Shah Kotla.

Mohammad Shahzad
Mohammad Shahzad was the star player with the bat for Afghanistan against South Africa Getty

Afghanistan come into this fixture after suffering a second straight defeat in the ongoing tournament. Their second defeat was against South Africa and Faf du Plessis' side once again managed to score over 200 as they set a target of 210. Afghanistan also had a good start, thanks to a fine batting display from Mohammad Shahzad. However, they could not continue the momentum until the end as they were bowled out for 172. Considering their form against the African nation, England cannot afford to take Afghanistan lightly when they face them on Wednesday.


England to win

Betting Odds (betfair)

  • England to win: 1/10
  • Afghanistan to win: 11/2

Team News


Squad: Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Jos Buttler (wk), Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Jordan


Squad: Mohammad Shahzad (wk), Noor Ali Zadran, Asghar Stanikzai (c), Karim Sadiq, Mohammad Nabi, Samiullah Shenwari, Najibullah Zadran, Shafiqullah, Rashid Khan, Dawlat Zadran, Hamid Hussain.