Mark Webber

Mark Webber registered his first pole of the season and will start the 2013 Japanese Grand Prix from the front after the Red Bull driver was the fastest during qualifying at the Suzuka Circuit on Saturday.

Where to Watch Live

The race starts at 6:55am BST, with Sky Sports F1 and BBC Radio 5 Live providing live coverage in the UK. Real-time internet updates are available on the Live Timing section of the sport's official website. Watch the race highlights at 7pm BST on BBC Three and BBC Red Button.

Qualifying Review

Webber clinched his first pole at the Suzuka Circuit after clocking a time of 1:30.915. The defending champions and his teammate Sebastian Vettel was 0.174s behind the Australian. The 26-year-old German had an intermittent KERS issue with his car and will start the Sunday's race from the second spot.

Vettel was the fastest in Friday's practice session and could win his fourth Championship in a row at Suzuka. The Red Bull driver should win the Japanese Grand Prix, while hoping his closest rival, Ferrari's Fernando Alonso finishes lower than eighth.


The Spaniard had a poor qualifying on Saturday and will start the race from eighth place while his Ferrari teammate Felipe Massa was fifth. Britain's Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton clocked 1:31.253 and was third while Lotus' Romain Grosjean was fourth.

Kimi Raikkonen and McLaren driver Jenson Button managed to finish the qualifying in top ten as they start the Japanese Grand Prix from ninth and tenth place respectively.

Weather Forecast

The forecast for Sunday is mostly cloudy and rain is always a possibility. Peak temperature for the day is expected to be 23C though this should come down to 13c by the time of the race. Humidity ranges from 73 to 84%.

Top 10 Qualifying Results from Suzuka Circuit:

1. Mark Webber (Aus) Red Bull 1:30.915

2. Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Red Bull 1:31.089

3. Lewis Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes 1:31.253

4. Romain Grosjean (Fra) Lotus 1:31.365

5. Felipe Massa (Brz) Ferrari 1:31.378

6. Nico Rosberg (Ger) Mercedes 1:31.397

7. Nico Hulkenberg (Ger) Sauber 1:31.644

8. Fernando Alonso (Spa) Ferrari 1:31.665

9. Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Lotus 1:31.684

10. Jenson Button (GBR) McLaren 1:31.827