Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Brazilian Neymar
Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Brazilian Neymar are contenders for the world footballer of the year Reuters

Lionel Messi wins the Ballon d'Or for the fifth time in his career, denying Cristiano Ronaldo a third consecutive triumph. Was it ever in doubt?


And the winner of the 2015 Fifa Ballon d'Or is Lionel Messi.


An emotional Carli Lloyd:

Wow. It truly is an honour. This has been a dream of mine ever since I started my journey with the national tam. Celia and Aya both are amazing footballers and are truly deserving of this award. I want to thank Jill, the coaching staff and all of our support staff. I wouldn't be standing up here if it wasn't for my team-mates. To James, we started this journey 13 years ago and you told me I could become the best player in the world. Now I can thank you for that.


Right, here we go then. Kaka, the last man not named Cristiano Ronaldo or Lionel Messi to win this award, is out to reveal the winner.


And the winner of the FIFA Women's World Player of the Year is... Carli Lloyd


Almost there, now. The penultimate award of the evening is to be announced in the next few minutes, the FIFA Women's World Player of the Year award.

The nominees again are Carli Lloyd, Aya Miyama, Celia Sasic


Lira's effort sealed the award by some margin in the end.


Well then. Messi's effort in the Copa del Rey final misses out. Wendell Lira of Brazil's Vila Nova scoops the award.


And the winner of the Fifa Puskas Award is... Wendell Lira!


Now it's time for the Puskas Award. Alessandro Florenzi, Wendell Lira and Lionel Messi should all have a very decent chance of winning it, but you feel it is only going to one man...


When will know who has won the award, then? Hopefully in the next half hour. Leona Lewis is currently on stage singing something. So that will keep us ticking over.


Next on the agenda this evening is the Fifa Puskas Award for the best goal of the year. There are some absolute crackers that didn't make the top three, including Philippe Mexes' outrageous overhead kick from outside the box and Carli Lloyd's effort from her own half against Japan at the Women's World Cup. The final shortlist is made up of efforts from Alessandro Florenzi, Wendell Lira and Lionel Messi.


Luis Enrique beat his compatriot Pep Guardiola to the coach's award by approximately 9%. Jorge Sampaoli, who led Chile to the Copa America, is a distant third.


It was a bit of a landslide win for Jill Ellis.


Luis Enrique wins Fifa Men's World Coach for 2015.


And now for the Men's World Coach award. Those nominees again are Pep Guardiola (Bayern Munich), Luis Enrique (Barcelona), Jorge Sampaoli (Chile)


United States coach Jill Ellis clinches the FIFA World Coach of the Year for Women's Football


Now we move onto the FIFA World Coach of the Year (Women's) award. Hope Powell is out on stage to dish it out.

The candidates are: Jill Ellis, Mark Sampson, Norio Sasak


That segment for the Fifa Fifpro World XI was topped off by a brilliantly awful video compilation of the team scoring a goal. They all got a touch ! Fair play.


One player from Bayern Munich in that side, and four from Real Madrid! A few lads from Barcelona make up the rest of the team, with Thiago Silva or Paris Saint-Germain retaining his spot at the back.


And here's the XI. You could have guessed it, really.

Manuel Neuer

Dani Alves
Sergio Ramos
Thiago Silva

Andres Iniesta
Luka Modric
Paul Pogba

Lionel Messi
Cristiano Ronaldo


Now it's time for the Fifa Fifpro World XI: Best eleven players in the world, as voted for by fellow players.