Sebastian Vettel

Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel will start the Indian Grand Prix in pole position after edging out teammate Mark Webber in the qualifying session. The 25-year-old German is bidding to become the youngest treble champion in F1 history.

Where to Watch Live

The race from Noida in India starts at 10.30am GMT with Sky Sports F1 HD providing live coverage in the UK. Radio commentary is available on BBC Radio 5 Live, and live and free text updates are available through the Live Timing section on the sport's official website.

Track Facts

  • Circuit Name: Buddh International Circuit
  • First Race: 2011
  • Circuit Length: 5.14km
  • Number of Laps: 60
  • Race Distance: 308.4km
  • Lap Record: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull) - 1:27.249
  • 2011 Winner: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
  • 2011 Pole: Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)

Qualifying Review

Vettel secured the 35th pole of his career after making an error under braking on his first flying lap. The two-time world champion was expected to ease to the pole but he could see off the challenge from Webber only by less than a tenth of a second. Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button will make up the second row on the grid after the McLaren duo qualified in third and fourth position.

Fernando Alonso, who trails Vettel in the drivers' rankings by six points, qualified in fifth place, while his Ferrari teammate Felipe Massa, finished sixth. Force India's Paul di Resta could qualify only in 16th place.

Hamilton - Vettel - Webber

Weather Forecast

The forecast is for sunny skies, with an ideal peak temperature of 28 degrees Celsius. The only concern is that pollution from New Delhi can reach the circuit, but it is not expected to seriously affect proceedings.

While ambient temperatures are good, track temperatures seem to run high. Teams will be working to make sure that tyres stay within their optimal window, as usual. The surface appears very smooth as the track is a relatively new one and has been little used this season.


Air rifle shooter and London 2012 bronze-medallist Gagan Narang will flag off the race and Bollywood actor Hrithik Roshan is expected to wave the chequered flag.

Qualifying positions:

1. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)

2. Mark Webber (Red Bull)

3. Lewis Hamilton (McLaren)

4. Jenson Button (McLaren)

5. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)

6. Felipe Massa (Ferrari)

7. Kimi Raikkonen (Lotus Renault)

8. Sergio Perez (Sauber)

9. Pastor Maldonado (Williams)

10. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)

11. Romain Grosjean (Lotus Renault)

12. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)

13. Bruno Senna (Williams)

14. Michael Schumacher (Mercedes)

15. Daniel Ricciardo (Toro Rosso)

16. Paul Di Resta (Force India)

17. Kamui Kobayashi (Sauber)

18. Jean-Eric Verge (Toro Rosso)

19. Vitaly Petrov (Caterham)

20. Heikki Kovalainen (Caterham)

21. Timo Glock (Marussia)

22. Pedro De La Rosa (HRT)

23. Narain Karthikeyan (HRT)

24. Charles Pic (Marussia)