MPs in the UK parliament voted in favour of handing Prime Minister Theresa May the power to trigger Article 50 and formally start proceedings for the country to leave the EU.

The bill passed overwhelmingly on Wednesday (1 February) night, with 498 lawmakers supporting it and 114 voting against it.

Though both major parties supported the bill, 47 Labour MPs and one Tory rebelled.

The bill faces further scrutiny in the Commons as well as the House of Lords before it can become law.

See the full list of how MPs voted below.