India take on Ireland in their opening encounter in Group B on Saturday (6 August).

Where to watch live

The match starts at 3pm BST. The hockey matches of the Rio 2016 Olympics will be telecasted live on BBC One, BBC Four and Red Button in the United Kingdom. In addition to this, there will be up to 24 HD video streams to follow the event on desktop, mobile and tablet.

Below is a list of all Olympics 2016 Hockey broadcasters from across the world.


Eight-time Olympic Gold medal winners India come into the Rio 2016 Olympics on back of some impressive form, claiming silver medals at the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup in Malaysia and the Hockey Champions Trophy in London.

Coached by Dutch tactician Roeland Oltmans, who helped Netherlands win the gold at Atlanta 1996, India are arguably the dark horses of the tournament. The Men in Blue will need to be careful heading into their opening game, if history is anything to go by India have not won an opening match since the 2000 Olympics in Sydney where they beat Argentina 3-0.

A lot will depend on the performances of charimastic midfielder Sardar Singh and in keeper P.R Sreejesh and drag-flicking defenders V.R Raghunath and Rupinder Pal Singh. India have players who are both experienced and skillful.

sardar singh
Midfielder Sardar Singh is a key player for India Getty

Their opponents, Ireland by qualifying for the Rio 2016 Olympics, became the first Irish team in any sport to qualify for the Olympics since the 1908 Games in London. The unpredictable Ireland team come into this clash after putting on an inspired show, beating Malaysia and Pakistan at the 2015 FIH World League semi-finals.

Ireland are not expected to cause much of a flutter at the summer games, but with coach, former South African International Craig Fulton setting sights on reaching the quarter-final, they just might cause some upsets.

Team news


Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh (c)

Defenders: Harmanpreet Singh, Rupinder Pal Singh, Kothajit Singh, Surendar Kumar, VR Raghunath,

Midfielders:Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh, SK Uthappa, Danish Mujtaba, Devender Walmiki, Chinglenana Singh.

Forwards: SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah


Goalkeepers: David Harte (c), David Fitzgerald

Defenders: Jonny Bell, Paul Gleghorne, Ronan Gormley, Conor Harte, John Jackson

Midfielders:Chris Cargo, John Jermyn, Eugene Magee, Shane O'Donoghue, Kirk Shimmins, Michael Watt, Michael Robson

Forwards:Peter Caruth, Mitch Darling, Kyle Good, Alan Sothern, Michael Watt, Tim Cockram

Below is a list of TV channels that would air the game around the world:

United KingdomBBC
ArgentinaAmerica Movil, DirecTV, ESPN, Fox Sports
BrazilFox Sports Brazil
ChileESPN, Fox Sports
ColombiaESPN, Fox Sports
Costa RicaESPN
FranceFrance 4, Foot+
HondurasClaro Sports
Hong KongTVB Sport
IrelandLFC TV
IndiaStar Sports
Middle EastbeIN Sports Arabia
NorwayTV2 Sumo
PortugalSport TV3
SpainTVE La 1, TDP
United StatesUSA Network, NBC Sports