David Miller of Kings XI Punjab Photo by Pal Pillai-IPL-SPORTZ

Kings XI Punjab will take on the Hobart Hurricanes in the opening Group B clash of the 2014 Champions League T20 at Punjab Cricket Association (PCA) Stadium on Thursday.

Where to Watch Live

The match starts at 3:30pm BST. Live coverage is on British Eurosport 2 and British Eurosport 2 HD. Follow live updates of the match on ESPN Cricinfo. Click here for the live streaming link.


It will be the runners-up of IPL 7 against the runners-up of the 2014 Big Bash league when Kings XI Punjab play the Hobart Hurricanes at the PCA Stadium on Thursday.

This is the first appearance for either of the teams in the Champions League T20 and both will be keen to make a good impression and carry their domestic form to the world stage.

The Lions from Punjab will bring their trademark aggressive brand of cricket, which worked so well for them during last this year's IPL. They have some dangerous batsmen in the form of Glen Maxwell, David Miller, Virender Sehwag and George Bailey.

However, apart from Aussie speedster Mitchell Johnson, they lack quality in their bowling attack. And the former Mumbai Indians player is still awaiting clearance from the Australian cricket board regarding his participation in the tournament.

George Bailey Australia
Kings XI Punjab skipper George Bailey BCCI Official Website

Meanwhile, the Hobart Hurricanes will be coming up against one of their own when they take on Kings XI, as George Bailey, who is the captain of the IPL franchise, is also the captain of the Hurricanes during the Big Bash tournament.

The Big Bash league runners-up also have some experienced players in their lineup, Doug Bollinger, Ben Hilfenhaus and ex-Pakistan skipper Shoib Malik.

The Tasmania-based outfit will want to get one over their captain and get off to a good start in their inaugural appearance in the CL T20 tournament.

Betting Odds (888Sport.com)

  • Kings XI Punjab to win: 7/15
  • Hobart Hurricanes to win: 28/17

Team News

Kings XI Punjab

Squad: George Bailey (capt), Thisara Perera, Mitchell Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, David Miller, Akshar Patel, Karanveer Singh, L Balaji, Manan Vohra, Mandeep Singh, Rishi Dhawan, Virender Sehwag, Wriddhiman Saha, Anureet Singh, Parvinder Awana.

Hobart Hurricanes

Squad: Tim Paine (capt), Jon Wells, Evan Gulbis, Xavier Doherty, Ben Hilfenhaus, Dom Michael, Sam Rainbird, Travis Birt, Doug Bollinger, Aiden Blizzard, Cameron Boyce, Joe Mennie, Ben Laughlin, Ben Dunk, Shoaib Malik.