Marc Marquez
Honda MotoGP rider Marc Marquez of Spain celebrates his victory of the Catalunya Grand Prix in Montmelo, near Barcelona June 15, 2014. Reuters

Marc Marquez (Repsol Honda Team) has continued his superb season with a seventh consecutive win, this time in his own backyard at the Catalunya Grand Prix.

After a thrilling race, the youngster beat Valentino Rossi (second) and team-mate Dani Pedrosa (third) – who fought until the end but lost position due to a clash on the last lap.

Although Pedrosa made ​​a great start, the initial leader was Jorge Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha), who during the first few minutes of the race was ahead of Rossi (Movistar Yamaha) and Marquez.

Then the Italian raced past the two Spaniards and held that position, while Pedrosa and the current champion fought against each other – with Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda) joining the scrap for a while. Pedrosa overcame Marquez after a mistake that left him momentarily out of track, but one lap later Marquez took the lead.

On the last lap, the duel between Pedrosa and Marquez was spectacular. They passed each other five times in all. Even after the fifth pass, Pedrosa did not surrender, yet in his attempt to pass Marquez a final time, his front wheel collided with the back of the Catalan prodigy's tyre.

Marquez just about managed to retain control and steer his bike home, while Rossi took advantage of Pedrosa's slip to nudge into second place. Lorenzo finished fourth and Cal Crutchlow (Ducati Team) abandoned because of electrical problems to his bike.

Marquez now has 175 points, 58 more than Rossi - who took the second position - and 63 more than Pedrosa.

The riders will reconvene for the next race at the Assen Circuit next week. Last year, Rossi won the Grand Prix of Spain – Marquez was second and Crutchlow third.

Catalunya MotoGP 2014 Results

1. Marc Marquez (Spain) Honda 42'56.914

2. Valentino Rossi (Italy) Yamaha 42'57.426

3. Dani Pedrosa (Spain) Honda 42'58.748

4. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain) Yamaha 43'01.454

5. Stefan Bradl (Germany) Honda 43'08.062

6. Aleix Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 43'11.127

7. Pol Espargaro (Spain) Yamaha 43'13.041

8. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy) Ducati 43'13.089

9. Andrea Iannone (Italy) Ducati 43'14.954

10. Bradley Smith (Britain) Yahama 43'21.695

11. Yonny Hernandez (Colombia) Ducati 43'34.067

12. Nicky Hayden (USA) Honda 43'40.213

13. Scott Redding (Britain) Honda 43'40.321

14. Michele Pirro (Italy) Ducati 43'52.071

15. Hiroshi Aoyama (Japan) Honda 43'56.105

16. Broc Parkes (Australia) PBM 43'57.820

17. Michael Laverty (Britain) PBM 43'58.198

18. Colin Edwards (USA) Yamaha 44'03.035

19. Hector Barbera (Spain) Avintia 44'22.109

20. Michel Fabrizio (Italy) ART 44'37.579

Not classified

Mike Di Meglio (France) Avintia 8 laps

Cal Crutchlow (Britain) Ducati 15 laps

Alvaro Bautista (Spain) Honda 22 laps

Karel Abraham (Czech Republic) Honda 24 laps