Marc Marquez
Marc Marquez Reuters

Marc Marquez won the Italian Grand Prix on Sunday to extend his perfect start to six wins from six races this season – becoming the first rider to reach the landmark achievement since legend Valentino Rossi won seven straight in 2002.

Even though Jorge Lorenzo led much of Sunday's race after Marquez's poor beginning, the Honda driver managed to win once again fllowing a trilling duel – considered by experts as one of the best one-on-one MotoGP battles in championship history.

Marquez passed his compatriot on a straight with seven laps to go but Lorenzo didn't surrender until the very end - with the lead changing hands six times in a frenetic last four laps.

The 21-year-old driver eventually finished 0.121 ahead Lorenzo, passing the Yamaha driver on the last lap, while Rossi was third, 2.688 back.

After the race, Marquez claimed that it was his toughest victory.

"I'm really happy, I think this was the toughest race of this year. I struggled, especially in the beginning" he said.

"OK, maybe I was stronger on the break points, but Jorge was always strong in the mid-corner. He was able to keep high speed and in the beginning I was struggling quite a lot, but then with the used tyres I start to feel again like in the practice."

Mugello MotoGP results:

1. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 41m 38.254s
2. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 41m 38.375s
3. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 41m 40.942s
4. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 41m 52.300s
5. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 41m 53.857s
6. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici) 41m 55.296s
7. Andrea Iannone ITA Pramac Racing (Desmosedici) 41m 55.383s
8. Alvaro Bautista ESP Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RC213V) 42m 5.661s
9. Aleix Espargaro ESP NGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha) 42m 20.140s
10. Yonny Hernandez COL Pramac Racing (Desmosedici) 42m 23.466s
11. Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici) 42m 23.687s
12. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing (RCV1000R) 42m 24.085s
13. Scott Redding GBR Go&Fun Honda Gresini (RCV1000R) 42m 24.093s
14. Hiroshi Aoyama JPN Drive M7 Aspar (RCV1000R) 42m 25.088s
15. Colin Edwards USA NGM Forward Racing (Forward Yamaha) 42m 47.808s
16. Michael Laverty GBR Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART) 42m 56.043s
17. Broc Parkes AUS Paul Bird Motorsport (PBM-ART) 43m 13.285s
18. Mike Di Meglio FRA Avintia Racing (Avintia) 43m 15.755s