Follow live coverage here.

The curtain comes down on the Rio 2016 Olympics as the world prepares for the closing ceremony at the Maracana Stadium on 21 August, Sunday. The biggest sporting event has seen several memorable performances. US swimmer Michael Phelps created history by winning his 23<sup>rd gold in the Olympics, while Jamaica's Usian Bolt completed a triple treble.

The next Olympics will be hosted in Tokyo, Japan, in 2020. The closing ceremony will include a section where the Olympic flag will be handed over to the next host city. Rio de Janeiro mayor Eduardo Paes, who took the flag at the London 2012 Olympics, will hand it over to Tokyo governor Yuriko Koike.

Norwegian DJ Kygo will perform at the closing ceremony as the International Olympic Committee will launch their new channel during the closing ceremony. The channel will broadcast live sports events, news and features of legends and elite athletes.

"The opportunity to be a part of the closing ceremony of the Olympic Games in Rio is a huge milestone in my career and it will be the biggest performance of my life. I've been a sports fan since forever, and to be able to combine this with my music and help to launch something like the Olympic Channel is a dream come true," Kygo explained.

Rio 2016 Olympics
Fireworks explode over Maracana stadium with the Mangueira 'favela' community in the foreground during opening ceremonies for the Rio 2016 Olympic Games Mario Tama/ Getty Images

What time is the Rio 2016 Olympics closing ceremony?

The closing ceremony starts at 2am BST (Monday) /10pm local time.

Below is a list of TV channels that will air the Rio 2016 Olympics closing ceremony around the world:

United KingdomBBC
AlgeriabeIN Sports Arabia
BrazilFox Sports Brazil
ChileESPN, Fox Sports
ColombiaESPN, Fox Sports
Costa RicaESPN
FranceFrance 4, Foot+
BrazilClaro Sports
Hong KongTVB Sport
IrelandLFC TV
ItalyPremium Sport HD
Middle EastbeIN Sports Arabia
New ZealandSKY GO NZ
NorwayTV2 Sumo
BrazilSport TV3
SpainTVE La 1, TDP
United StatesUSA Network, NBC Sports