MS Dhoni and his men make a trip to Africa as India take on South Africa in the first of the three One Day Internationals (ODIs) on Thursday. The fixture will be the first match of the tour and will be held at the New Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg.

Where to Watch Live

The play starts at 11:30am GMT. Live coverage of the match will be on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Follow live text updates of the game on ESPN Cricinfo.


The Proteas come into this game after losing the three-match ODI series to Pakistan in front of their home fans. AB de Villiers saw his men suffer a defeat in the first two matches played in the 50 over format, before South Africa pulled a victory in the final game.

The hosts would be hoping that the victory over Pakistan would lay the foundation for South Africa to bounce back against the World Champions. In the final ODI against Pakistan, the Proteas bowled out Misbah-ul-Haq's side for 179 and chased the total in less than 40 overs and winning the match by four wickets.

David Miller

Meanwhile, India enter the first match of the tour after having a brilliant run in the ODI and Test matches played at home against West Indies. The two-match Test series was the Little Master Sachin Tendulkar's final international series as Dhoni's men sealed a 2-0 win over the visitors.

India continued their Test form in ODI's as they won the three match series 2-1 and Dhoni would be hoping that his men would repeat the similar performance in their trip to Africa. Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been in fine form with the bat the trio will be put under tests in the foreign conditions.

Team Form

South Africa

    • Last Five (most recent first): W L L W W
    • Last Result: Pakistan lost to South Africa by four wickets


    • Last Five (most recent first): W L W W W
    • Last Result: West Indies lost to India by five wickets

Team News

South Africa

Probable Lineup: Hashim Amla, Graeme Smith, Quinton de Kock (wk), Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers (c), JP Duminy, David Miller, Ryan McLaren, Morne Morkel, Dale Steyn, Imran Tahir


Probable Lineup: Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (C & wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Mohit Sharma