Dale Steyn
Dale Steyn is hoping to inspire South Africa to World Cup glory Getty Images

Click here to follow India v Pakistan Live Blog

Group B fixtures will kick-start as South Africa take on Zimbabwe at Seddon Park, Hamilton on Sunday.

Where to Watch Live

The match starts at 1:00am GMT. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Click here for the live streaming link.


South Africa come into this edition of the World Cup as one of the firm favourites. They have not managed to get past the semi-final stage and this year, they will be hoping to show what they are made of by breaking the jinx.

The Proteas have a very strong batting line-up which includes the likes of Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers and David Miller. Their bowling is equally complemented with Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel and Vernon Philander.

De Villiers will be hoping for an easy start against another African nation on Sunday as they will be looking to start the tournament with a win. Zimbabwe, on the other hand will be looking for an upset by defeating South Africa.

Betting Odds (888Sport.com)

  • South Africa to win: 4/11
  • Zimbabwe to win: 28/13

What They Say

AB de Villiers (South Africa captain): "We knew exactly what to expect leading up to this World Cup even three months back. We knew the games coming, the amount of sessions we had in place. We knew really early and in that way you can get your mind ready for what's coming. I sit here feeling very fresh and ready to go."

Elton Chigumbura (Zimbabwe captain): "Looking at the results before, people can call us small but of the teams we've played recently, there are good signs. The guys feel like they belong here."

Team News

South Africa

Possible XI: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers (c), JP Duminy, David Miller, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir


Possible XI: Sikandar Raza Butt, Chamu Chibhabha Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor (wk), Craig Ervine, Sean Williams, Elton Chigumbura (c), Soloman Mire, T Mupariwa/P Utseya, Tinashe Panyangara, Tendai Chatara