Follow live coverage of Sri Lanka vs England here

Joe Root
Joe Root's form will be key for England to move into the semi-final stage of the ICC T20 World Cup 2016 Getty

Sri Lanka take on England in a Group 1 fixture of the ICC T20 World Cup 2016 at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium in Delhi on 26 March. The defending champions have to win to stay in the competition.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 2pm GMT/7.30pm IST. Live coverage of the game is available on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD in the UK. Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3 will telecast the match live in India. Click here for live streaming link.


Sri Lanka will be keen to maintain their reputation of being the most consistent team in the history of the ICC T20 World Cup in terms of performances. In five previous editions, the island nation have finished runners-up on two occasions in 2009 and 2012, won the tournament in 2014 and made the semi-finals in 2010. The defending champions are in danger of getting knocked out in the second round of the competition only for the second time if they fail to win against England at the Feroz Shah Kotla.

England, on the other hand, are not guaranteed of a place in the semi-finals as yet, despite their two wins over Afghanistan and South Africa and will have to win against Sri Lanka to have a good chance of progressing. This is the 2012 champions's last group game, and they can still be knocked out even after a win, if South Africa manage to win both their matches against West Indies and Sri Lanka.

Both teams have not been at their best in the tournament and will be playing on a difficult pitch at the Feroz Shah Kotla stadium.


Sri Lanka to win

Betting odds (betfair)

  • Sri Lanka to win: 6/4
  • England to win: 1/2

Team news

Sri Lanka

Possible XI: Angelo Mathew (c), Dushmantha Chameera, Dinesh Chandimal (wk), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Suranga Lakmal. Rangana Herath, Shehan Jayasuriya, Chamara Kapugedara,Nuwan Kulasekera, Thisara Perera.


Possible XI: Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (c), Jos Buttler (wk), Ben Stokes, Moeen Ali, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley, David Willey, Chris Jordan.

Click here to follow more about ICC T20 World Cup 2016