sardar singh
Skipper Sardar Singh is a key player for India Getty

India take on Canada in the third match of the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup at Ipoh, Malaysia, on Sunday, 10 April.

Where to Watch Live

The match is set to begin at 1:35pm BST/6.05pm IST. There is no live coverage of the game in the UK. In India live coverage of the game is available on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports 3.


India, who are fielding a relatively weak team, have looked scratchy so far, coming into this game on the back of a 5-1 thrashing by title contenders Australia. The Indians are currently fifth in the points table with just three points from two games played. What has been disappointing for them is their poor conversion rate of penalty corners, while the defence is struggling due to lack of experience.
Manpreet Singh who missed the first two matches due to the death of his father has re-joined the squad and it is he and skipper Sardar Singh who have to lead from the front if India are to climb upwards in the points table.

Canada started their campaign with a 1-3 loss to Pakistan but since then they have fought back drawing 1-1 against champions New Zealand and beating Japan 3-1. Currently sitting second in the points table with four points from three matches, the Canadians are definitely no pushovers. But they will have to contend with the conditions and weather with Malaysia especially hot and humid at this time of the year.

Team News



Goalkeepers: Harjot Singh, Akash Anil Chikte

Defenders: Rupinder Pal Singh, Jasjit Singh Kular, Kothajit Singh, Surender Singh, Harmanpreet Singh

Midfielders: Danish Mujtaba, Chinglensena Singh, Manpreet Singh, Sardar Singh, SK Uthappa, Harjeet Singh

Forwards: Talwinder Singh, Mandeep Singh, SV Sunil, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah.



Goalkeepers: Antoni Kindler, David Carter

Defenders: Adam Froese, Benjamin Martin, David Jameson, Gordon Johnston, Hudson Stewart.

Midfielders: Jagdish Gill, John Smythe, Mark Pearson, Paul Wharton, Richard Hildreth, Sukhpal Panesar, Taylor Curran.

Forwards: Brenden Bissett, Devohn Noronha-Teixeira, Gabriel Ho-Garcia, Iain Smythe, James Kirkpatrick, Keegan Pereira, Matthew Guest, Matthew Sarmento, Philip Wright,