Otago Volts
Otago are on a 14-match winning streak (clt20.com)

South Africa's Highveld Lions take on high-flying New Zealand side Otago Volts at Jaipur in the 2013 Champions League T20 Group A on Sunday.

Where to Watch Live

Play starts at 11:30am BST, with British Eurosport providing live coverage in the UK.


The Lions have lost their last two matches to IPL heavyweights Mumbai Indians and Rajasthan Royals, by seven wickets and 30 runs respectively. However, they do have two points on the board from their washed out game against Australian outfit Perth Scorchers. Alviro Pietersen is the only batsman who has found some form, with scores of 40 and 35 not out, while the bowling unit has been below par as well. Even if they do win today, the South African side only has a mathematical chance of qualifying to the semi finals, depending on other results.

Otago, on the other hand, are on a roll. They beat all three of their opponents in the qualifiers, including a strong Sunrisers Hyderabad side. Their first group game against Mumbai was washed out but they defeated the Scorchers by 62 runs in their second game, after posting a mammoth total of 242. The Volts have now won a record 14 matches in a row and will be keen on extending that streak, when they face the Lions. Captain Brendon McCullum and all-rounder Ryan ten Doeschate have been in great form with the bat, while opener Neil Broom scored a century in the last game (117 not out from 56). The bowlers have also impressed so far, with Ian Butler leading the attack.

What Players/Coaches Say

Lions coach Geoffrey Toyana: "We still have a mathematical chance of making it. Hopefully the Scorchers can beat Mumbai and Otago can do us some favours."

Volts wicketkeeper Derek de Boorder: "We are probably quite lucky that the wickets aren't typical Indian wickets. It's like what we play on back home in New Zealand."

Teams (from)

Lions: Alviro Petersen (c), Temba Bavuma, Gulam Bodi, Quinton de Kock (wk), Imran Tahir, Neil McKenzie, Ethan O'Reilly, Aaron Phangiso, Dwaine Pretorius, Sohail Tanvir, Jean Symes, Thami Tsolekile (wk), Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Rassie van der Dussen, Hardus Viljoen

Otago: Brendon McCullum (c), Nicholas Beard, Michael Bracewell, Neil Broom, Ian Butler, Mark Craig, Derek de Boorder (wk), Jacob Duffy, James McMillan, James Neesham, Aaron Redmond, Hamish Rutherford, Ryan ten Doeschate, Neil Wagner