House of Lords
Karren Brady, Andrew Lloyd Webber, Melvyn Bragg, Julian Fellowes and Michelle Mone had a say in the Lords Getty

A "constitutional crisis", an embarrassing defeat for George Osborne and a surprise Labour victory – the vote on the government's proposed cuts to tax credits was action-packed. The event also saw a number of celebrity peers exercise their legislative rights, sprinkling some stardust on the ancient upper chamber.

Newly ennobled lingerie tycoon and Conservative Baroness Michelle Mone, a former Labour supporter, used her first vote in the Lords in a failed bid to stop Jeremy Corbyn's party and the Liberal Democrats from blocking the chancellor's tax credits reforms. Likewise, The Apprentice judge cum Tory peer Karren Brady and Conservative sports star Sebastian Coe voiced their discontent in the lobbies.

Their efforts helped stop a "fatal motion" tabled by Liberal Democrat Baroness Manzoor, which was voted down by 310 to 99 and would have sent the tax credit cuts proposal back to the House of Commons.

But the Tory celebrities, who had Andrew Lloyd Webber and Downtown Abbey creator Julian Fellowes in their ranks, saw a majority of peers back a motion tabled by cross-bencher Baroness Meacher with 307 votes to 277. The Conservatives were dealt a double blow when the Lords also passed Baroness Hollis' motion by 289 votes to 272.

The result means Osborne will have to rethink his tax credit cuts and publish a reply to the Institute for Fiscal Studies (IFS) on the reforms.

However, there were a few stars on the winning side of the tax credits debate. Veteran broadcaster and Labour peer Melvyn Bragg backed the blocking motions from Meacher and Hollis. The documentary maker was joined by Liberal Democrat peer and actress Floella Benjamin in blocking Osborne's flagship welfare reform.

Elsewhere, Archbishop of York John Sentamu was the only Church of England peer to vote for Hollis' motion. The Ugandan-born clergyman also backed Meacher's motion, but opposed Manzoor's "fatal motion" alongside Bishop of Chester Peter Forster.