Theresa May has risked further SNP fury over her Brexit plans after snubbing the secretaries of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland from her new top team on the issue.

The senior Conservatives, including Scottish Secretary David Mundell, will only attended the European Union Exit and Trade Committee "as required".

Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson, International Trade Secretary Liam Fox and Brexit Secretary David Davis will be among the ministers with permanent positions in the group.

The SNP's leader at Westminster Angus Robertson has accused May of treating Scotland "with contempt" over the move.

"The revelation that the Scottish Secretary is not a full member of Theresa May's Brexit Cabinet committee is deeply embarrassing for Mundell – but more importantly it also seriously undermines May's claim that Scotland will be fully involved in the Brexit negotiations," he said.

"The UK government is treating Scotland with contempt – but make no mistake, the SNP will ensure that Scotland's voice is heard loudly and clearly in the Brexit process."

The Brexit Cabinet committee list, first publish by Politico Europe, comes just one day after Nicola Sturgeon warned Scotland would split from the rest of the UK if the government pursues a "hard Brexit".

The First Minister of Scotland will table a second Scottish referendum bill at Holyrood next week. Scots rejected separatism in 2014, with more than 55% of the electorate backing a No vote.

But the UK's historic decision to split from the EU at a 23 June referendum has reinvigorated the debate, particularly after 62% of voters in Scotland backed Remain.

Number 10 has suggested May's government would oppose a second ballot, while Labour's Ian Murray told IBTimes UK a second referendum is the "last thing" the nation needs.

"Sadly, Scotland is caught between a Tory Government arguing against the EU and for the UK, and an SNP Government arguing against the UK and for the EU. They are both wrong," the Edinburgh South MP said.

"We cannot endlessly pursue this path of polarised politics. That is why Scottish Labour wants Scotland in the UK with a close and productive relationship with the EU. We will do everything possible to secure this."

All six of the Leave campaigners in May's cabinet will sit on the committee, which currently stands at 12 permanent positions.

Full list

  • Theresa May, prime minister
  • Philip Hammond, chancellor of the exchequer
  • Amber Rudd, home secretary
  • Boris Johnson, foreign secretary
  • David Davis, secretary of state for exiting the European Union
  • Liam Fox, secretary of state for international trade
  • Greg Clark, secretary of state for business, energy and industrial strategy
  • Damian Green, secretary of state for work and pensions
  • Chris Grayling, secretary of state for transport
  • Andrea Leadsom, secretary of state for environment, food and rural affairs
  • Priti Patel, secretary of state for international development
  • Patrick McLoughlin, chancellor of the duchy of Lancaster
  • David Mundell, secretary of state for Scotland (as required)
  • Alun Cairns, secretary of state for Wales (as required)
  • James Brokenshire, secretary of state for Northern Ireland (as required)

Via Politico Europe