Kabbadi World Cup
Captains of 12 countries along with the 2016 Kabbadi World Cup trophy Getty

United States will take on Iran in the second match of the 2016 Kabaddi World Cup the Arena by TransStadia in Ahmedabad, Gujarat on Friday (7 October). The two teams are placed in Pool B and it will be the first fixture of that group.

These two sides are also placed along with Kenya, Japan, Thailand and Poland in Pool B. All the six teams will fight against each other to finish in the top two, which will help them seal a berth in the semi-final of the tournament.

Iran are one of the firm contenders to win the Kabaddi World Cup in India and can provide tough competition to the host nation, who are looking for a third straight success. Their captain Meraj Sheykh has already featured in India's Pro-Kabaddi League and is familiar with the conditions in the country.

India skipper Anup Kumar has even backed Iran to make it to the final. However, everything depends on how they fare in the opening match of the tournament and the United States will look for an upset when they face Iran on Friday.

Where to watch live

There will be two matches played every day from 7 October to 19 October. The first match starts at 4.30pm BST/11.30am EST/9pm IST.

Sky Sports will provide coverage of the match in the United Kingdom, while Star Sports in the US are the official broadcasters of the 2016 Kabaddi World Cup. Live streaming will be available on the Sky Sports' website in the United Kingdom and Hotstar in US.

TV guide

  • United Kingdom: Sky Sports
  • United States: Star Sports
  • United States of America: Fox Sports
  • Canada: CBN
  • Saudi Arabia: OSN Sports