13 Reasons Why has been cancelled in the fourth season. The controversial teen drama will return for fourth and the final season, next year. As per the latest report, things are going to get interesting when the show returns for the finale with a new key character. Read on for more details.

"13 Reasons Why" Season 4 will bring on board a character related to the leading man Clay Jensen as played by Dylan Minnette. This character is a therapist who works with Jensen who is still grieving the death of his friend and seeks healing.

Forrest Gump actor Gary Sinise will be playing the role of the new entry, Dr. Robert Ellman in the show's final season. According to the Digital Spy, the network describes the character as a "compassionate but no-nonsense therapist."

The showmaker Brian Yorkey said that it is a dream come true to cast Sinise in 13 Reasons Why. "A consummate actor and first-rate human, Gary brings the exact combination of toughness, smarts, and heart the character needs. We're all thrilled and honored to have him join us for this pivotal role in our final season," said Yorkey.

This is not the first time the series has introduced a new character that was not seen in the previous events leading to the storyline surrounding Hannah Baker and Bryce Walker's death. In Season 3, people met Chloe Rice as played by Anne Winters. She is Bryce's ex-girlfriend and the head cheerleader at the Liberty High School.

However, it is said that the show has featured a longer storyline than the original story from Jay Asher's book of the same name. As per Deadline, the network announced the fourth and the final season before the launch of Season 3 that aired on Friday, August 23 on Netflix.

As for the fourth season of 13 Reasons Why, there is no official release date yet. Also, its too early to expect details from the plot, but reports suggest that the show will focus on the students' final days in school as they prepare for graduation.

13 Reasons Why

13 Reasons Why feature Katherine Langford, Dylan Minnette, Christian Navarro, Brandon Flynn, Alisha Boe, Justin Prentice, Ross Butler, Derek Luke, Grace Saif, Branda Strong, Brian James and Kate Walsh.