MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni's men will take on Bangladesh in the opening game of the 2016 Asia Cup T20 tournament Getty

India take on Bangladesh in the first match of the 2016 Asia Cup T20 tournament at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Bangladesh on 24 February.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 1.30pm GMT. Live coverage of the game is available in the UK on Star Life OK.


The Asia Cup 2016 T20 tournament kicks off with the hosts taking on India in the first game on Wednesday. The series, which has been contested 12 times since its founding in 1984, will be played for the first time in the T20 format.

Favourites to win the Asia Cup, India, come into this tournament on the back of series wins against Sri Lanka and Australia. Led by MS Dhoni, the Men in Blue have been in sensational form off late and in Shikhar Dawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh and R Ashwin, they have proven match-winners. The skipper himself, will be looking to regain that verve to characterise his performance with the bat.

While the batting line up looks in good shape, the bowling department will be dependent on Ashwin, who was adjudged the man of the series in their last outing against Sri Lanka. Skipper Dhoni suffered a back spasm while training, with Parthiv Patel being called in as back-up, in case the former is unable to play.

Such has been the change in Bangladesh cricket over the past two years, that they are no longer called underdogs. Recent performances, have lead to an increase in confidence and in Shakib-Al-Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim and skipper Mashrafe Mortaza, they have players who are vastly experienced in International cricket.

Twenty-year-old Mustafizur Rehman who created ripples the last time India visited Bangladesh, will be expected to shoulder the bowling load. Bangladesh will be without opener Tamim Iqbal who will miss the first game.


India to win

Betting odds (888sport)

  • India to win: 3/10
  • Bangladesh to win: 5/2

Team news


Squad: MS Dhoni (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Parthiv Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuveneshwar Kumar, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya.


Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (C), Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Imrul Kayes, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rehman, Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Sabbir Rehman, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed.