Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma hit 83 of 55 balls during India's opening Asia Cup win over hosts Bangladesh Getty

India take on Pakistan in the fourth match of the 2016 Asia Cup T20 tournament at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Bangladesh on 27 February.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 1.30pm GMT. Live coverage of the game is available in the UK on Star Life OK.


Saturday's (27 February) clash between India and Pakistan in the 2016 Asia Cup is the most anticipated tie of the tournament as is the case in most tournaments which involve the two sides at least for Asian fans across the world. The series, which has been contested 12 times since its launch in 1984, will be played for the first time in the T20 format.

India are the favourites to win the tournament on the back of a successful tour of Sri Lanka and Australia, and are already on top of the points table with a win in their first game against hosts Bangladesh. Rohit Sharma continued his form from Australia and will be key for India in the tournament and the upcoming T20 World Cup. Virat Kohli, who was rested for the tri-series, will hope to get back his rhythm and a game against their arch rivals should have all the players fired up.

Apart from batting, the bowling is also formidable with Ravichandran Ashwin leading the way. He is a tricky customer, especially on sub-continent wickets. Ashish Nehra has also been striking and showed his value in the opening game when he took three wickets against Bangladesh.

Pakistan are playing their first game of the tournament and are facing India for the first time in over a year. Their last meeting was in the 2015 Cricket World Cup when India won by 76 runs. Despite the lack of T20 cricket for Pakistan, their players will be well prepared for the contest as they are coming into the tournament on the back of the recently concluded Pakistan Super League.

The focus in the Pakistan camp ahead of the game is likely to be on Mohammad Amir, who is making a comeback to international cricket following a five-year ban due to spot fixing.


India to win

Betting odds (888sport)

  • India to win: 10/21
  • Pakistan to win: 28/17

Team news


Squad: MS Dhoni (C), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Ajinkya Rahane, Parthiv Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Bhuveneshwar Kumar, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya.


Squad: Shahid Afridi (C), Anwar Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Khurram Manzoor, Mohammad Amir, Mahammad Hafeez, Mohammad Irfan, Mahammad Nawaz, Mohammad Sami, Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Wahab Riaz.