Belgium take on the Netherlands in the semi-final on Tuesday (16 August).

Where to watch live

The match starts at 9pm BST. The hockey matches of the Rio 2016 Olympics will be telecast live on BBC One, BBC Four and the BBC's Red Button interactive service in the United Kingdom. In addition to this, there will be up to 24 HD video streams to follow the event on desktop, mobile and tablet.

Below is a list of all Olympics 2016 Hockey broadcastersfrom across the world.


The second semi-final of in the men's hockey tournament of the Rio 2016 Olympics will witness two teams, who are known for their attacking plays and verve, facing each other. Belgium who are the dark horses to win the tournament, come into this clash after dismantling eight-times champion India 3-1 in the quarter final.

John-John Dohmen led team though did not start too brightly, going a goal down in the 14th minute, but from then on it was the Belgian show, with the team dominating both offense and defence.

Sebastien Dockier was the star of the game scoring a brace while Tom Boon added a goal later on to pile on the misery for India. The Belgians will need to ensure that the defense are on their toes against Netherlands considering the talent and resources available at their disposal.

While they come here as underdogs, Belgium have the tenacity and flair to cause an upset.

Netherlands hockey
Netherlands thrashed Australia 4-0 in the quarter final of the men's hockey tournament at Rio 2016 Olympics Getty

London 2012 Silver medalists Nethelands, come into this game on the back of a commanding 4-0 victory over Australia in the quarter-final. Billy Baker, Bob de Voogd, Valentin Verga and Mink van der Weerden all scored for the team.

The Dutch are the favourites to progress to what will be their second consecutive finals with the players keen to get revenge for their loss to Germany last time around.

Team news


Goalkeepers: Jeremy Gucassoff ,Vincent Vanasch

Defenders: Arthur Van Doren, John-John Dohmen, Florent van Aubel, Sebastien Docker

Midfielders: Cedrik Chaarlier, Gauthier Boccard, Alexander Hendrickx, Thomas Briels, Felix Denayer

Forwards: Simon Gougnard, Loick Luypaert, Jerome Truyens, Elliot van Strydonck, Tanguy Cosyns


Goalkeepers: Jaap Stockmann

Defenders: Mink van der Weerden, Rogier Hofman, Glenn Schuurman, Hidde Turkstra

Midfielders: Seve van Ass, Billy Bakker, Sander Baart, Jorrit Croon, Robert Kemperman, Bob de Voogd, Sander de Wijn

Forwards: Mirco Pruyser, Robert van der Horst, Jeroen Hertzberger, Valentin Verga.

Below is a list of TV channels that would air the game around the world:

United KingdomBBC
ArgentinaAmerica Movil, DirecTV, ESPN, Fox Sports
BrazilFox Sports Brazil
ColombiaESPN, Fox Sports
Costa RicaESPN
FranceFrance 4, Foot+
HondurasClaro Sports
Hong KongTVB Sport
IrelandLFC TV
IndiaStar Sports
Middle EastbeIN Sports Arabia
NorwayTV2 Sumo
PortugalSport TV3
SpainTVE La 1, TDP
United StatesUSA Network, NBC Sports