Theresa May is planning to limp into the two-year-long divorce talks with the EU after being humiliated by the British electorate at the general election.

The prime minister had asked voters to boost her "strong and stable" mandate in a bid to strengthen her hand at the negotiating table with Brussels.

But the Conservatives were left short of a majority and forced to negotiate a pact with the Northern Irish Democratic Unionist Party (DUP) to stay in power.

May's top two aides – Nick Timothy and Fiona Hill – resigned as a cohort of senior Tory MPs threatened to launch a coup against her. Gavin Barwell, the pro-EU former housing minister, has been appointed as the prime minister's new chief-of-staff.

May has also been forced to keep much of her top team the same, besides Michael Gove, the Vote Leave campaigner, returning to the cabinet as environment secretary and Damian Green enjoying a promotion to first secretary of state.

As the Brexit talks next week loom, and with the government promising to seek a bespoke customs deal with the EU and split from the bloc's single-market, IBTimes UK has looked at how the new cabinet voted in the EU referendum.

  • Prime Minister Theresa May – Remain

"If we do vote to leave the European Union, we risk bringing the development of the single market to a halt, we risk a loss of investors and businesses to remaining EU member states driven by discriminatory EU policies, and we risk going backwards when it comes to international trade.

"But the big question is whether, in the event of Brexit, we would be able to negotiate a new free trade agreement with the EU and on what terms."

  • First Secretary of State Damian Green – Remain
  • Chancellor Philip Hammond – Remain
  • Home Secretary Amber Rudd – Remain
  • Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson – Leave
  • Brexit Secretary David Davis – Leave
  • Defence Secretary Sir Michael Fallon – Remain
  • Health Secretary Jeremy Hunt – Remain
  • Justice Secretary David Lidington – Remain
  • Education Secretary Justine Greening – Remain
  • International Trade Secretary Liam Fox – Leave
  • Business Secretary Greg Clark – Remain
  • Environment Secretary Michael Gove – Leave
  • Transport Secretary Chris Grayling – Leave
  • Communities Secretary Sajid Javid – Remain
  • House of Lords leader Baroness Evans – Remain
  • Scotland Secretary David Mundell – Remain
  • Welsh Secretary Alun Cairns – Remain
  • Northern Ireland Secretary James Brokenshire – Remain
  • International Development Secretary Priti Patel – Leave
  • Culture, Media and Sport Secretary Karen Bradley – Remain
  • Work and Pensions Secretary David Gauke – Remain
  • Conservative Party Chair Sir Patrick McLoughlin – Remain

Ministers who also attend cabinet

  • Chief Secretary to the Treasury Liz Truss – Remain
  • Leader of the House of Commons Andrea Leadsom – Leave
  • Chief Government Whip Gavin Williamson – Remain
  • Attorney General Hon Jeremy Wright – Remain
  • Immigration minister Brandon Lewis – Remain