The 2012 BRIT awards will be held on Tuesday, in London. Here is a look at the nominations, ahead of the big night...

British Male Solo Artist

Ed Shereen (Atlantic Records/Warner Music)

James Blake (Polydor/Universal Music)

James Morrison (Island/Universal Music)

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds (Sour Mash)

Professor Green (Virgin/EMI Music)

British Female Solo Artist

Adele (XL Recordings/XL Beggars)

Florence + the Machine (Island/Universal Music)

Jessie J (Island/Lava/Universal Music)

Kate Bush (Fish People/EMI Music)

Laura Marling (Virgin/EMI Music)

British Breakthrough Act (Top five selected by Voting Academy. Category promoted by BBC Radio 1.)

Anna Calvi (Domino Records)

Ed Sheeran (Atlantic Records/Warner Music)

Emeli Sande (Virgin/EMI Music)

Jessie J (Island/Lava/Universal Music)

The Vaccines (Columbia/Sony Music)

British Group (Top five selected by Voting Academy. Category promoted by BBC Radio 2.)

Arctic Monkeys (Domino Records)

Chase & Status (Mercury/Universal Music)

Cold Play (Parlophone/EMI Music)

Elbow (Polydor/Universal Music)

Kasabian (Columbia/Sony Music)

British Single (Top 10 British singles based on commercial radio airplay and sales in the calendar year are automatically nominated. Promoted by Capital FM and iTunes, listeners and users will vote for their favourite single of the year.)

Adele "Someone Like You" (XL Recordings/XL Beggars)

Ed Sheeran "The A Team" (Atlantic Records/Warner Music)

Example "Changed the Way You Kissed Me" (Ministry Of Sound)

Jessie J Ft B.o.B. "Price Tag" (Island/Lava/Universal Music)

JLS ft Dev "She Makes Me Wanna" (Epic/Sony Music)

Military Wives/Gareth Malone "Wherever You Are" (Decca/Universal Music)

Olly Murs ft Rizzle Kicks "Heart Skips A Beat" (Epic/Sony Music)

One Direction "What Makes You Beautiful" (Syco Music/Sony Music)

Pixie Lott "All About Tonight" (Mercury/Universal Music)

The Wanted "Glad You Came" (Global Talent/Island/Universal Music)

Mastercard British Album Of The Year (Supported By The Sun Bizarre Column And Itv1's Daybreak)

Adele "21" (XL Recordings/Beggars)

Coldplay "Mylo" (Xyloto Parlophone/EMI Music)

Ed Sheeran "+" (Atlantic Records/Warner Music)

Florence "+ The Machine" (Ceremonials Island/Universal Music)

PJ Harvey "Let England Shake" (Island/Universal Music)

International Male Solo Artist

Aloe Blacc (Epic/Sony Music)

Bon Iver (4AD/XL Beggars)

Bruno Mars (Atlantic Records/Warner Music)

David Guetta (Positiva/Virgin/EMI Music)

Ryan Adams (Columbia/Sony Music)

International Female Solo Artist

Beyonce (Columbia/Sony Music)

Björk (One Little Indian)

Feist (Polydor/Universal Music)

Lady Gaga (Polydor/Universal Music)

Rihanna (Mercury/Universal Music)

International Group

Fleet Foxes (Bella Union)

Foo Fighters (RCA/Sony Music)

Jay-Z/Kanye West (Mercury/Universal Music)

Lady Antebellum (Capitol/EMI Music)

Maroon 5 (Polydor/Universal Music)

International Breakthrough Act

Aloe Blacc (Epic/Sony Music)

Bon Iver (4AD/XL Beggars)

Foster the People (Columbia/Sony Music)

Lana Del Rey (Polydor/Universal Music)

Nicki Minaj (Island/Universal Music)

Outstanding Contribution to Music Award

Blur (EMI Music)

Critics' Choice (In association with War Child. Identified by a panel made up of media music critics)

1st: Emeli Sandé (Virgin/EMI Music)

2nd: Maverick Sabre (Mercury/Universal Music)

3rd: Michael Kiwanuka (Polydor/Universal Music)

British Producer

Paul Epworth


Ethan Johns