cpl 2016
Jamaica Tallawahs won the the first edition of the CPL in 2013 Getty

The 2016 edition of the Caribbean Premier League now in its fourth year promised excitement and it has not disappointed. The group stages have provided both thrills and chills for cricket fans, giving us some great performances and quite a few unexpected results.

From Chris Gayle's 18<sup>th Twenty20 International century to the performance of bowlers like Sohail Tanvir, Dwayne Bravo and company, the ongoing CPL 2016 has lived up to the hype. In all honesty, the top-four teams of the tournament have qualified for the play-off stages, with defending champions Trinbago Knight Riders just squeezing through.

Barbados Tridents, who did not make the cut, eventually finished in fifth place; they were perhaps unlucky that their star player AB de Villiers left early on in the tournament, which hampered their chances. Meanwhile St Lucia Zouks put on a run of five consecutive wins to reach the play-off stage.

The top four teams qualify for the knock-out stage. Here is the play-off stage line-up:

Playoff 1: Guyana Amazon Warriors vs Jamaica Tallawahs (1<sup>st place vs 2<sup>nd place)
Wednesday, 3 August – 12am BST (Early Thursday morning)
Venue: Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts

Playoff 2: St Lucia Zouks vs Trinbago Knight Riders (3<sup>rd place vs 4<sup>th place)
Thursday, 4 August – 12am BST (Early Friday morning)
Venue: Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts

Playoff 3: TBD vs TBD (Playoff 2 winner vs Playoff 1 loser)
Friday, 5 August – 12am BST (Early Saturday morning)
Venue: Warner Park, Basseterre, St Kitts