Barry Jenkins' coming-of-age drama Moonlight scooped up best ensemble, best screenplay, best feature and independent audience awards A24

The Independent Filmmaker Project (IFP) officially kicked off the 2016-17 awards season at Cipriani Wall Street in New York City on 28 November, announcing the winners of the 26th Annual Gotham Awards. Indie darlings filled the nomination list with titles such as Certain Women, Paterson and Manchester By The Sea all up for multiple accolades but it was Barry Jenkins' Moonlight that won biggest on the night, scooping up four awards.

The coming-of-age drama was named best feature during the event, also earning itself best screenplay, best ensemble performance and the Gotham Independent Film Audience Award. Casey Affleck took away the prize for best actor for his role in Kenneth Lonergan's Manchester By The Sea while French actress Isabelle Huppert picked up best actress for thriller Elle.

In addition to the competitive awards, Gotham Award Tributes were given to actors Amy Adams and Ethan Hawke, director Oliver Stone and producer Arnon Milchan, who has worked on movies such as Gone Girl, The Big Short and The Revenant in recent years.

Check out the full list of winners (alongside their fellow nominees) below...

Best Feature
Certain Women
Everybody Wants Some!!
Manchester By The Sea

Best Screenplay
Hell Or High Water - Taylor Sheridan
Love & Friendship - Whit Stillman
Manchester By The Sea - Kenneth Lonergan
Moonlight - story by Tarell Alvin McCraney; screenplay by Barry Jenkins
Paterson - Jim Jarmusch

Manchester By The Sea
Kyle Chandler (left) and Gotham Awards best actor winner Casey Affleck in affecting drama Manchester By The Sea Roadside Attractions / Amazon Studios

Best Actor
Casey Affleck (Manchester By The Sea)
Jeff Bridges (Hell Or High Water)
Adam Driver (Paterson)
Joel Edgerton (Loving)
Craig Robinson (Morris from America)

Best Actress
Kate Beckinsale (Love & Friendship)
Annette Bening (20th Century Women)
Isabelle Huppert (Elle)
Ruth Negga (Loving)
Natalie Portman (Jackie)

Best Documentary
I Am Not Your Negro
O.J.: Made In America

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Robert Eggers (The Witch)
Anna Rose Holmer (The Fits)
Daniel Kwan & Daniel Scheinert (Swiss Army Man)
Trey Edward Shults (Krisha)
Richard Tanne (Southside With You)

Breakthrough Actor
Lily Gladstone (Certain Women)
Lucas Hedges (Manchester By The Sea)
Royalty Hightower (The Fits)
Sasha Lane (American Honey)
Anya Taylor-Joy (The Witch)

Special Jury Award For Ensemble Performance
(Mahershala Ali, Naomie Harris, Alex Hibbert, André Holland, Jharrel Jerome, Janelle Monáe, Jaden Piner, Trevante Rhodes and Ashton Sanders

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend finale
Crazy Ex-Girlfriend won the prize for best long-form breakthrough television series The CW

Breakthrough Series – Long Form
Crazy Ex-Girlfriend
The Girlfriend Experience
Horace and Pete
Marvel's Jessica Jones
Master of None

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
The Gay and Wondrous Life of Caleb Gallo (YouTube)
Her Story (
The Movement (
Sitting in Bathrooms with Trans People (Seriously.TV)
Surviving (YouTube)

Gotham Independent Film Audience Award

For more entertainment news follow A-List on Twitter @Alistinsider