Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma scored a century in the quarter final of the World Cup against Bangladesh. [Getty]

Bangladesh were no match for India in the quarter final clash of the 2015 ICC World Cup as the defending champions sealed a routine victory over their neighbours.

Rohit Sharma's century helped India reach 302 runs for the loss of six wickets from 50 overs. In reply, Bangladesh were bowled out for 193 runs and MS Dhoni saw his side seal a 109-run victory.

The latest win sees India join South Africa as the second team to make it to the last four of the tournament. Rohit Sharma was named Man of the Match for his 137 off 126 balls.

After winning the toss, which was very crucial, Dhoni elected to bat first. His decision to do so paid off very early in the match with Rohit Sharma, along with his opening partner Shikhar Dhawan putting on a 75-run partnership, before the latter gave away his wicket after scoring 30 runs.

Virat Kohli was the next to follow in no time and India were in trouble. Ajinkya Rahane managed 19 off 37 balls and his dismissal saw India lose three wickets for 115 runs in the 28th over.

It was the introduction of Suresh Raina that helped Rohit Sharma score freely and the duo kept the score board ticking. The left-handed batsman reached his fifty, while Rohit Sharma reached his century, before Raina was caught after managing a quick 65 runs. Ravindra Jadeja, who played an unbeaten knock at the end, helped India reach a total of 302 runs.

In reply, Bangladesh were given a good start by Tamim Iqbal. However, his dismissal was immediately followed by the run out of Imrul Kayes, after which Soumya Sarkar and Mahmudullah tried to hold their wickets.

However, Mohammed Shami bounced back with two quick wickets and from then on the Indian bowlers capitalised by picking wickets at regular intervals. Bangladesh were all out for 193 and it is for the seventh consecutive time that India have bowled out the opposition, an achievement unheard of for India.

The latest win is also Dhoni's 100th win as a captain and he is seven wins short of matching the record of Alan Border, who is second in the all time list of captains with the most number of wins.