Karim Benzema opened the scoring for Real Madrid against Manchester City in Melbourne Getty

Real Madrid kick off the Asian leg of their pre-season global tour with a friendly against Inter Milan at the Tianhe Stadium in Guangzhou, China on 27 July.

Where to watch live

Kick-off is set for 1pm BST. Live coverage of the game will be available on Sky Sports 1 HD.


Real Madrid come into this clash just 72 hours after they thrashed Manchester City 4-1 to win the Australian group of the International Champions Cup in Melbourne. Goals from Karim Benzema, Cristiano Ronaldo, Pepe and Denis Cheryshev gave the 10-time European champions an emphatic victory to make up for the penalty-shootout defeat they suffered against AS Roma in their first pre-season outing.

It was Real's first win under new coach Rafael Benitez, who will be pleased with the quality and intensity shown by his players against a heavyweight opponent. The Spaniard put out a full strength team against City and is likely to make some changes for the Inter Milan clash given the short turnaround between games.

Meanwhile, Inter will be looking to bounce back after a spectacular goal from Philippe Mexes condemned them to defeat against bitter rivals AC Milan in Shenzhen. The Nerazzurri have faded as a domestic and European force, since securing a historic treble under Jose Mourinho in 2010, and only finished in eighth place in the Serie A last season.

Roberto Mancini will be hoping his team can make a pre-season statement of intent by beating the superstars of Real to help build confidence heading into the new campaign.

What managers say

Rafa Benitez: "I think that with such long journeys pre-season can be tricky. In China now, with the humidity and so on, we'll have to work hard to continue bringing the team up to speed."

Betting odds (By 888sport)

  • Real Madrid win: 4/7
  • Draw: 3
  • Inter Milan win: 9/2

Team news

Real Madrid possible XI:Navas; Carvajal, Varane, Pepe, Marcelo; Kroos, Casemiro; Bale, Modric, Ronaldo; Benzema.

Inter Milan possible XI: Handanovic; Montoya, Ranocchia, Jesus, Dimarco; Brozovic, Kovacic, Kongogbia; Palacio, Hernanes, Icardi.