To follow LIVE coverage of Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, CLICK HERE

David Warner
David Warner is a key player for the Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise Getty


Among all the hype surrounding Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore and the two new franchises – Pune and Gujarat – Sunrisers Hyderabad have flown under the radar with not too many people talking about the Tom Moody's men.

Last year, they were looking good to make it to the play-offs, but lost their last two matches and failed in their attempt, as they lacked the batsmen to capitalise on the starts given by openers David Warner and Shikhar Dhawan. They have bought in Yuvraj Singh, Aditya Tare and Deepak Hooda to help in the middle order, but only time will tell if the strategy works.

The bowling department is where the Sunrisers look strong as they have Indian pacer Ashish Nehra and Bangladeshi Mustafizur Rahman. The two left-armers will be joined by Trent Boult, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Karn Sharma in what is a well-balanced bowling attack.

With Eoin Morgan, Kane Williamson and Moises Henriques too in the squad, it will be interesting to see who they pick as their four foreign players.

Coach: Tom Moody

Key player

David Warner: One of the most destructive players in the world at present, Australian David Warner has been a consistent performer in the IPL, scoring 2,525 runs in 83 games with a strike rate of 139.34. Add to that the two hundreds he has scored in the league and you have a match-winner with the bat.

Warner is had a poor ICC T20 World Cup 2016 and will look to put that past him as he leads the Sunrisers, it will be very important that he comes to form as early as possible, as how Hyderabad perform in IPL 2016 will depend on how Warner performs both as a batsman and as a captain.


Date Day Time Matches Venue

12/04/16Tuesday8.00 PM IST (3.30pm BST)Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers HyderabadBangalore
16/04/16Thursday4.00 PM IST (11:30am BST)Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kolkata Knight RidersHyderabad
18/04/16Saturday8.00 PM IST (3.30pm BST)Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Mumbai IndiansHyderabad
21/04/16Thursday8.00 PM IST (3:30pm BST)Gujarat Lions vs Sunrisers HyderabadRajkot
23/04/16Saturday8.00 PM IST (3:30pm BST)Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Kings XI PunjabHyderabad
26/04/16Tuesday8.00 PM IST (3:30pm BST)Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Rising Pune SupergiantsHyderabad
30/04/16Saturday8.00 PM IST (3:30pm BST)Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Royal Challengers BangaloreHyderabad
06/05/16Friday8.00 PM IST (3:30pm BST)Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Gujarat LionsHyderabad
08/05/16Saturday4.00 PM IST (10:30am BST)Mumbai Indians vs Sunrisers HyderabadMumbai
10/05/16Tuesday8.00 PM IST (3:30pm BST)Rising Pune Supergiants vs Sunrisers HyderabadPune
12/05/16Thursday8.00 PM IST (3:30pm BST)Sunrisers Hyderabad vs Delhi DaredevilsHyderabad
15/05/16Sunday8.00 PM IST (3:30pm BST)Kings XI Punjab vs Sunrisers HyderabadNagpur
20/05/16Friday8.00 PM IST (3:30pm BST)Delhi Daredevils vs Sunrisers HyderabadRaipur
22/05/16Sunday4.00 PM IST (10:30pm BST)Kolkata Knight Riders vs Sunrisers HyderabadKolkata

IPL history: The Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise was formed in 2013 and since then they have failed to win the Indian Premier League title. The best finish was in 2013 when they reached the play-off stage, only to lose the eliminator to Rajasthan Royals.

Squad: David Warner (C), Ashish Reddy, Ricky Bhui, Bipul Sharma, Trent Boult, Ben Cutting, Shikhar Dhawan, Moises Henriques, Deepak Hooda, Siddharth Kaul, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun, Eoin Morgan, Mustafizur Rahman, Ashish Nehra, Naman Ojha (WK), Vijay Shankar, Karn Sharma, Barinder Sran, T Suman, Aditya Tare, Kane Williamson, Yuvraj Singh.

Prediction:The Hyderabad outfit are too dependent on a few players like David Warner, Shikhar Dhawan, but if the bowling comes good and with the variety they have, they might just sneak into the play-offs.