sardar singh
India are without inspirational skipper Sardar Singh, who has been rested for the tournament Getty

India take on Germany in their first match of the 2016 Hockey Champions Trophy at London on 10 June.

Where to watch live

Match starts at 4pm BST/8.30pm IST. Live coverage of the game in the UK is available on BT Sport and BT Sport HD. In India, live coverage is available on Star Sports 2 and Star Sports 2 HD. It can be viewed via live stream on

Click here to find out how to watch Men's Hockey Champions Trophy on TV, mobile and online abroad.


Playing in their last international tournament ahead of Rio Olympics 2016, India come into the tournament fresh from a solid performance at the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup, where they finished in the second place and secured the silver medal.

Regular skipper Sardar Singh has been rested for the competition, with goalkeeper PR Sreejesh taking over as captain. He will be looking for a strong performance from his men on 10 June as they face a tough opponent in Germany. The biggest worry for the Men In Blue, though, is their defence, which has looked shaky in the past.

On the other hand, Germany are the defending champions, beating Pakistan to take home the 2014 trophy. They come into this clash as the favourites, although they are not expected to win the tournament, especially with Australia participating. However, they will know that if they can rediscover their morale from two years ago, they will be a tough team to beat.

Team news


Goalkeepers: PR Sreejesh (c), Vikas Dahiya

Defenders: Kothajit Singh, Surender Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh, V.R Raghunath, Pardeep More

Midfielders: Danish Mujtaba, Chinglensena Singh, Manpreet Singh, SK Uthappa, Harjeet Singh, Devinder Sunil Walmiki

Forwards: Talwinder Singh, Mandeep Singh, SV Sunil, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah, Akashdeep Singh.


Goalkeepers: Nicolas Jacobi and Tobias Walter

Defenders: Lukas Windfeder, Martin Haner, Timm Herzbruch, Florian Fuchs (c), Jan Philipp

Midfielders: Jonas Gomoll, Oskar Deecke, Constantin Staib, Tobias Haucke, Tom Grambusch, Pilt Arnold,

Forwards: Oliver Korn, Martin Zwicker, Benedikt Furk, Moritz Rothlander, Marco Miltkau