Championship leader and Honda rider Dani Pedrosa took the pole position for Sunday's Italian Grand Prix at Mugello. The 27-year-old has already won two out of the four races and has managed to clinch the first pole of this season.

Dani Pedrosa

Where to Watch Live

The race starts at 12:30pm BST, with BBC Two and BBC Two HD providing live coverage in the UK.


Yamaha Rider Jorge Lorenzo, who won the season opener at Qatar, was dominating most part of the qualifying session. However, Pedrosa's impressive performance in the final lap of the QP2 saw the Spaniard snatch the pole position from the 2012 World Champion. The Honda rider clocked the time of 1:47.157, leading his compatriot by 0.069 seconds.

Pedrosa and Lorenzo, along with Ducati rider Andrea Dovizioso locked out for the front row at the Italian Grand Prix on Sunday. British star and Tech 3 rider Cal Crutchlow finished fourth in the qualifying session and will be in the second row, after losing out a place in the front by 0.004 seconds.

French Grand Prix Podium Finish
Honda MotoGP rider Dani Pedrosa (C) of Spain celebrates on the podium between Yamaha Tech 3\'s Cal Crutchlow of Britain (L) and Honda\'s Marc Marquez (R) of Spain after winning the French Grand Prix in Le Mans circuit. Reuters

Crutchlow's crash forced him to switch bikes and was riding with a broken shin, which he picked up during the last race at the French Grand Prix. Despite the trouble, he managed to finish in the second row.

Marc Marquez, who made history after becoming the youngest rider to win the MotoGP was sixth while Yamaha rider and nine-time World Champions Valentino Rossi, seventh in his home turf. Also in top 10 are Ducati's Nicky Hayden and Michele Pirro.

Top 10 MotoGP qualifying times from Mugello:

1. Dani Pedrosa (Spa) Repsol Honda 1:47.157

2. Jorge Lorenzo (Spa) Yamaha 1:47.226

3. Andrea Dovizioso (Ita) Ducati 1:47.628

4. Cal Crutchlow (GB) Tech 3 Yamaha 1:47.632

5. Stefan Bradl (Ger) Honda 1:47.737

6. Marc Marquez (Spa) Honda 1:47.763

7. Valentino Rossi (Ita) Yamaha 1:47.872

8. Nicky Hayden (US) Ducati 1:48.006

9. Alvaro Bautista (Spa) Honda 1:48.355

10. Michele Pirro (Ita) Ducati 1:48.564