Dani Pedrosa continued his practice form into Saturday's (6 May) qualifying session as the Honda rider took pole for the 2017 Spanish Grand Prix. He will lead the Sunday's race at the Circuito de Jerez.

Where to watch live

Live coverage of the final race of the Spanish Grand Prix starts at 1pm BST on BT Sport 2 and BT Sport 2 HD. Real-time internet updates are available on MotoGP's official website. Live streaming is available on BTSport.com and mobile users can stream it live via BT Sport's official app.

Qualifying review

Pedrosa was the fastest during the qualifying session as he clocked a time of 1:38.249s. His Honda teammate and defending champion Marc Marquez will start Sunday's race from the second spot. The latter was 0.049s behind his compatriot, forcing him to miss out on a pole position.

Marquez failed to finish in the top 10 in Free Practice 2. The Spaniard's impressive form in the qualifying session helped him to clinch the second place. LCR rider Cal Cructhlow was third and he will lock horns with the two Honda riders for the front row on Sunday.

Yamaha's Maverick Vinales was fourth with a time of 1:38.677s. His teammate Valentiono Rossi, who has won seven the Spanish Grand Prix on seven occasions, will start from the seventh spot.

Top 10 qualifying results from Circuito de Jerez:

1. Dani Pedrosa (Esp) Honda 1:38.249s

2. Marc Marquez (Esp) 1:38.298s

3. Cal Crutchlow (GBR) LCR 1:38.453s

4. Maverick Viñales (Esp) Yamaha1:38.677s

5. Andrea Iannone (Ita) Suzuki 1:38.744s

6. Johann Zarco (Fra) Tech 3 1:38.861s

7. Valentino Rossi (Ita) Yamaha 1:38.908s

8. Jorge Lorenzo (Esp) Ducati 1:38.910s

9. Jonas Folger (Ger) Tech 3 (1:39.108s

10. Jack Miller (Aus) Estrella Galicia 1:39.125s