Brendon McCullum
Brendon McCullum Reuters

New Zealand take on South Africa in the first of the two Group 1 matches scheduled for the day in the 2014 T20 World Cup at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong on Monday.

Where to Watch Live

Play starts at 9:30am GMT. Live coverage is on Sky Sports 2 and Sky Sports 2 HD. Live text updates of the game will be available on ESPN Cricinfo. Click Here for Live Streaming Link.


New Zealand registered a win over England in their opening Super 10 game of the T20 World Cup on Saturday. Brendon McCullum won the toss and decided to bowl first. The English side managed 172 runs for the loss of six wickets from their 20 overs.

In reply, the Kiwis had a good start as they reached 52 runs from 5.2 overs, before bad weather brought the game to a halt. Using the Duckworth–Lewis (D/L) method, New Zealand won the tie by nine runs.

Meanwhile, South Africa come into this game after suffering a defeat by 5 runs against Sri Lanka in the first Super 10 fixture of Group 1. The Lankans managed 165 runs from 20 overs, losing six wickets in the process. In reply, the Proteas could manage only 160 runs for the loss of eight wickets from their full quota of 20 overs.

AB de Villiers would be hoping the strike bowling duo of Dale Steyn and Morne Morkle step up against New Zealand in order to keep their hopes alive of making it to the last four of the tournament.

South Africa and New Zealand have never achieved success in the T20 World Cup and both would be looking for their first success in the tournament this year. The Kiwis are on top of Group 1 with two points from one game, while the Proteas are third and are yet to open their account.

Team News

New Zealand

Probable Lineup: Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Brendon McCullum (c), Ross Taylor, Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi (wk), Nathan McCullum, Tim Southee, Kyle Mills, Mitchell McClenaghan.

South Africa

Probable Lineup: Quinton de Kock (wk), Hashim Amla, Faf Du Plessis, AB De Villiers (c), JP Duminy, David Miller, Albie Morkel, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Imran Tahir.