Daniil Kvyat
Daniil Kvyat upstaged the Mercedes and Ferrari's to record the fastest time of the weekend in FP2 Getty

Mercedes are finally getting a run for their money as the Ferrari and Red Bull cars are displaying good speed at the Marina Bay Street Circuit. This is the first time this season a Mercedes is not guaranteed a front row start.

Where to watch live

The third free practice session begins today (19 September, 2015) at 11am BST, while the qualifying session starts at 2pm BST. Sky Sports F1 and Sky Sports F1 HD will provide live coverage of both events in the UK. Real-time Internet updates are available on the Live Timing section of the sport's official website.


It was the first race of the season when a Mercedes car was not in the top three during a practice session. It was the Red Bull and Ferrari, which took the plaudits with Daniil Kvyat leading Kimi Raikkonen, who was ahead of Daniel Ricciardo in third.

Hamilton had to settle for the fourth place, and admitted after practice that the three cars ahead of him have genuine pace. Mercedes were unable to get the best of the super soft tyres, which seem to suit the cars ahead of them better.

Rosberg, despite a brand new upgraded engine, could only manage the seventh place, while the Force India cars continued to impress with both Perez and Hulkenburg in the top 10.

The surprise of the day, however, was Fernando Alonso's McLaren. It was the first time this season when the underpowered McLaren-Honda cars were able to match the pace set by the rest of the field giving them hope for some points in the race.

The qualifying session will be the tightest it has been the entire season, with three teams going head-to-head for a place on the front row.

Top 10 results of the second practice session from Marina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore:

1. D Kvyat (RUS) Red Bull – 1:46.142

2. K Raikkonen (FIN) Ferrari – 1:46.181

3. D Ricciardo (AUS) Red Bull – 1:46.256

4. L Hamilton (GBR) Mercedes – 1:46.479

5. S Vettel (GER), Ferrari – 1:46.487

6. S Perez (MEX) Force India – 1:46.659

7. N Rosberg (GER) Mercedes – 1:46.781

8. F Alonso (ESP) McLaren – 1:46.959

9. N Hulkenburg (GER) Force India – 1:47.294

10. M Verstappen (NED) Toro Rosso – 1:47.427